The 30 Activites

1. When I was my most active, I trained for a 10K race, and finished. During this time, I ran every other day on the Hudson Greenway. The farthest I made it from my apartment was to 99th street. Now that I haven’t run in months and am terribly out of shape, can I make it from 181st St. to Battery Park City on foot? I don’t know, but I’m going to try.**
2. I will eat at Candle Café, the city’s best Vegetarian restaurant that I have been to.
3. I will eat at burritoville.
4. I will eat at Panna II, the city’s best Indian restaurant that I have been to.
5. I will walk through the door, plop down a suggested donation of $2.50 and look at only my favorite parts of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. On the way out, I will buy a pretzel from a street vendor. *
6. I love Fort Tryon Park. I’m going to walk through it, and then go to the Cloisters Museum. *
7. The best deal in New York. For the price of nothing, I will ride the SI ferry.
8. Drinks at Vintage is always a favorite. I was there before anyone, except Ed O’Neil and Julia Styles
9. Even though the restaurant space is no longer a crowded mess, I will enjoy the butternut squash soup at Vinyl Diner.
10. I will eat at Thai Angel, the city’s best Vegetarian restaurant that I have been to.
11. Even though I learned about the location while shooting the movie that drove me out of the city, I plan to go to The Hall of Fame Terrace at Bronx Community College one more time. *
12. I have always wanted to ride the A train the whole way.
13. In one sitting, I will read the New Yorker, maybe in Grand Central Station, or my local Starbucks.
14. In these 30 days there will be one 1st Saturday at the Brooklyn Museum. ***
15. I will pay to see one movie at AMC theatre on 42nd St. I will see two.
16. I will pay half price at Loews’s 34th St.****
17. Get trashed at Jesse’s Place.
18. Discount shop at Century 21.
19. Life is good when you don’t have to travel far to get Jamba Juice. Yes, I will drink that wheatgrass in juice form.
20. Three words: Tasti-d-lite.
21. I’ve done it before, but when will I walk across the GWB again? This month, I will.
22. Even though it’s technically a tourist thing, real New Yorkers know that the only time to skate at Rockefeller Center is when the tree is down and the tourists are gone.
23. One of my new favorite traditions is brunch at Essex market.**
24. When you order Chinese food in the city, it arrives in 5 minutes.
25. It’s rarely good, and sometimes you get stuck seeing Colin Quinn, but New York audiences are the best when you see cheap-ass comedy for the price of 2 drinks.
26. Walk the High Line.
27. I always thought about it, but am I privileged enough to ride the Roosevelt Island Tram? I think so.
28. get my hair cut at Max’s.
29. Vegan delights at Moby’s Tea Shop. Because you want to be sure that your tea doesn’t have a big hunk of pork in it. *
30. If no one comes up with a better solution for me, I will have to add go to the top of the Empire State Building to this list.

*Must be Friday night (until 9) or Weekend
** must be weekend
***must be 2/4
****must be in January

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chachi on January 10, 2006 at 12:40 pm

    What about ride the tram over to Roosevelt Island? That’s something I’ve always wanted to do since I discovered it. Or haggle with a Chinatown vendor and get into one of the backrooms?

  2. Posted by Noelle on January 10, 2006 at 2:10 pm

    Chachi… you got it! I’m going to Roosevelt Island! I have already had the haggling experience. It’s scary and dirty.

Leave a Reply

