The Money Pit

The move is complete. And by that I mean all my stuff is in the Poughkeepsie cottage, nothing is in New York City (but my heart…) However, I am far far away from being able to live in the cottage. Before I go into that, I have to give mad props to my wonderful moving helpers, Birmingham, JennyR, Stella, The Man of Action and SisterAlyson. Awesome friends, all of them, in addition to very talented packers and movers. We got everything into the truck in under one hour. We got everything out of the truck in just over one hour. Everyone made it back to Manhattan safe and sound before the snow started falling. Everyone that lives in Manhattan, that is. Those of us who live in Poughkeepsie stayed to burn with rage.

Speaking of burning with rage, it seems that the cottage is not really the most well made habitat there ever was. Structurally, it is sound, but there are a lot of holes in the wall, cracks in the plaster, and buckles in the sheet rock. When I first looked at it, I thought all it needed was a little touch up paint, but as I walked through room by room, the fixer-uperness of the place became obvious. The challenge for tomorrow is to get the owner to help with the fixes and gear up to spend a lot of time peeling, scraping, sanding and arranging. Sadly, full habitation of the cottage is at least a week away. Anyone got a couch in Manhattan open for rental?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2006 at 3:59 am

    good luck with the move

    my Mom grew up in Poughkeepsie and I went many times as a kid to visit my grandparents

Leave a Reply

