Prenup, prenup, we want prenup!

Money is the thing foremost on my mind right now. It feels like it’s always going out without going in especially in recent days since I’ve moved. New York City has taken its half of my money in our recent divorce, mostly in the guise of Con Ed, Verizon, and that security deposit which is gone forever. What hurts most of all, however, was the piece of mail I received from the Department of Finance. As you may recall, two of New York’s need-to-make-quotas-iest gave me two tickets one December night last year, and then towed my car away minutes before I got there to take it from its semi-legal spot. The lesson here is much like a woman can’t be a little bit pregnant; a car can’t be a little bit illegal.

There was hope however! My boyfriend-in-law, who is an actual NYPD cop (and by that, I mean the good kind that protects and serves, not just a ticket writing bastard) told me that at least one of the tickets was BS because the two tickets had conflicting distances from the fire hydrant. So I wrote a nice little letter explaining this to the finance department, including 27 eight by ten color glossy photographs with circles and arrows and a paragraph on the back of each one explaining what each was as evidence to be used for me. Turns out it was actually evidence used against me. My plea was found “unpersuasive” and my objection that the officer wrote my car was black when it is clearly blue was deemed “not an essential element of summons.”

Now there is nothing for me to do but bend over and pay New York City $230 to make them go away, and thank them for the $185 they already took from me for the towing fee. I’m hoping this will be the last of it, but you never know when some gold digging city is going to come back to you claiming you owe it child support. 18 years, 18 years, and by the time it gets to 2024 no one hears my pleas.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Birmingham on February 16, 2006 at 7:47 pm

    Don’t just lay there and take it. Stand up and have your day in court; it’s not over ’til you make the fat cop cry!

  2. Posted by Sister Alyson on February 16, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    Lt. Dan says you should still go for your court date. As long as you can get off work, you have nothing to lose. Very few people go to their court dates, so you will win points just by showing up. Screw those pigs!

Leave a Reply

