Why you act dumb like "uh-duh"

I was driving aroud today trying to satisfy my inner consumer, but not finding anything worth my money except a $1.69 worth of vampy nail polish to cover up my ugly black thumbnail. As I was cruising down the main drag, I stopped at a red light by a Saturn dealer. I have to mention I’ve been a fan of Saturn since the beginning. When they were first introduced, I didn’t have a licence or the money to buy a car, but I was already sold. I was so convinced about the greatness of this company and their product, I persuaded my parents to get one despite their Oldsmobile loalty. (Now if only I could convince Dad to vote the proper way.) One Christmas they presented me with a new Saturn, mind you not for me to own but just to enjoy as a passenger and sometimes driver and I was this excited:

So you think I’d know a lot about the differnet kind of company, and as I sat there at that light on the highway inside my 1998 SL2 (a sort of loaner car from the rents) I was Shocked to realize something I had never noticed before. I’ve always liked the logo of the company, a sort of scripty, sideways, upper-case “S.” However, as I softened the focus on the sign, I was Shocked to realize for the first time in a decade or more, that that “S” is also representing the body and rings of the planet Saturn. Damn these logo people are smart!


I also want to mention that I was shocked when I realized the negative space of the FedEx logo makes an arrow. I’m slow on the uptake sometimes.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mom on March 9, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    Of course you are descended from a mother who didn’t realize for YEARS AND YEARS that the Golden Arches were in the shape of a large “M”.

  2. Posted by Birmingham on March 10, 2006 at 1:28 am

    Must repress snarky comments!!!… Hold!!! !!!Sssnngrrmphh!!!… Must repress…avoid trouble…{holds breath}…say nothing!

  3. I’d prefer reading in my native language, because my knowledge of your languange is no so well. But it was interesting! Look for some my links:

  4. You had a “u-haul” moment!

  5. […] been reading through the archives of Noelle’s fantabulous blog when I found this post. I’ve always liked the logo of the company [Saturn], a sort of scripty, sideways, upper-case “S.” However, as I softened […]

Leave a Reply

