Whats happining to r grammer is sad

I hate to nitpick, but I like language and I have respect for grammar. Admittedly, my spelling sucks, but I have spell and grammar check. Therefore, I have no excuse not to proofread email, posting on the internet, or writing closed captioning. I think that if you can’t be bothered to follow basic rules, then why should anyone bother to read what you wrote? It’s not like you’re the subtitle writer for the #1 rated ABC television show Lost or anything.

Oh, wait; you are the subtitle writer for Lost? So why in tonight’s broadcast did you think it okay to subtitle the Korean doctor’s dialogue as “you’re husband…”? I’m sorry, were you absent that day of 10th grade when we went over how “you’re” means “you are” and “your” is the possessive form of you? Were subtitling a live feed, or an episode of South Park that was produced in a week to ensure hilarious timeliness? Because that would explain a careless error… However, you had a gap of 2 solid weeks to do proofreading!

Oh, my other favorite line from Lost today…

ANA LUCIA
People don’t really like me…
No shit. You’re acting is bad. <— See how that makes no sense???

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jamie & John on March 23, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    I couldn’t agree more! And I just want to say- I love reading your blog!

  2. Posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    It’s one thing to have to unexpectedly come upon photos of Abu Ghraib online, and to have to sit through the HORROR of “CA-PO-TAY” (thanks for the lesson in pronunciation, Jack Nicholson, you pompous ass), but to have the possessive recklessly substituted for the declarative on national freaking TV – WIHOUT WARNING – well, I just have one question, and it goes something like this: Why Must I Suffer??

Leave a Reply

