You learn something new every couple of days.

Do you ever learn a new word and subsequently hear it everywhere you go? Every time this has happened to me, I’ve wondered if I had ignored people when they used the word in the past, or if I’ve been on the cusp of a new invention. Then I find out the word’s been around since Shakespeare.

Recently, the word I see everywhere is British slang. I first read it in the excellent novel Black Swan Green. Then, while reading the subtitles of The Office on DVD, I noticed it again. Last night, this new and exciting word was an integral part of South Park, doing a send-up of the James Frey thing.

The word? Minge. The definition? Well, I would put a picture up, or possibly a link, but then I would run the risk of getting my site blocked by my office’s filter. Let’s just say that only half of the world has one, and most of the other half of the world is motivated by trying to get one.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Birmingham on April 20, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    Mingey and Gary
    R.I.P. 1954-2006

    Oprah and I mourn your passing. Paris will never seem so sweet again.

    In related news check out this link.
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/10/31/google_login_shocker/

  2. Posted by Noelle on April 20, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    If you can’t see Birmingham’s great link,

    Leave a Reply

    