In The Still of The Night

I heard once that to get the best night’s sleep ever, you have to make your bedroom completely dark. Last night I systematically doused all illumination by unplugging appliances with ready lights and draping off all the windows. As I went to bed last night, I was plunged into a cave-like darkness, unable to see the hand in front of my face. I indeed slept though the entire night and got eight hours of restorative and dream-filled sleep. When the cat started pawing at my head this morning, I was dreaming that I was stage managing a play starring Dakota Fanning and she was screaming at me that her lighting was all wrong. Tonight, I’m not going to sleep until I have turned on every single light in my cottage.

Leave a Reply

