My Radical Political Idea

I’m a tried and true Liberal, there isn’t much on a Republican ticket that I could ever get behind. Right now is a really, really bad time to be a Republican. Not that being a Democrat is that much better right now. Despite having the high moral ground when it comes to the environment, women’s health, the economy, and… everything else we don’t have a unified vision, and one person that we can all get behind. This is an unfortunate side effect of being open to many ideas, and I’d take it over blindly following someone like Bush any day.

Now that the talk has turned to the 2008 presidential election, there have been some rumors floating around that we’ll get the return of Al Gore, an idea that I simply love. Firstly, he already won the election 8 years ago, so more that half the country has proven they’re willing to vote for him. Secondly, he’s blossomed like the flowers in my garden in the past 8 years once he was able to shed the constraints of the election process. Thirdly, the thought of him running instead of Hilary makes me giddy.

I’m not a Hilary hater, I even kind of like Hilary, but she’s just not there for me whenever I need her the most. I look at her, and I see a politician, a polarizing force that we simply don’t need right now. As I was thinking about it today, the whole situation reminds me of the British Royal Family. Bear with me for a minute here.

Elizabeth II has been Queen just under forever. There’s really no end in sight to that, but when it happens, Charles is going to become King. Faced with the idea of having to look at his mug every time they drop 5 quid for a mayonnaise covered sandwich, the British have suggested skipping over him and moving on to the much more entertaining and visually pleasing William.

This is the best solution to the Clinton problem. I’ve wanted a woman to be president ever since I realized I was a woman. Sadly, the only woman in the pole position right now is Hilary, because Condoleezza Rice doesn’t count. I also don’t like the idea of just two families dominating the presidency for three decades. Therefore, we should all get behind Al Gore, sit back and wait for Chelsea to come of age just in time for the 2016 election. It can happen, people.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mermu on May 16, 2006 at 3:18 am

    My brother brought enlightened me to the same realization. In 2008 there will have been either a Bush or Clinton in the White House for 20 years.

    We need new blood.

    And I’m very pro-Hillary…but I would love to see Al Gore in the White House.

  2. Posted by Mermu on May 24, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    I had a dream a few nights ago that Tipper and Al were coming to dinner and the bathroom was a mess.

    The more and more I think about it the more excited I get about Gore for President.

    As much as I like Hillary, I’m not sure she’s ready to be President. She’s only been in the Senate for a few years.

Leave a Reply

