My hard earned money

If you read the archives of this blog you’ll see documented instances of my move to the Hudson Valley from New York City has causing premature aging. I wasn’t necessarily a “hip” person in the city, but I was unmistakably a 20-something.

Yesterday, I was in the garden shop (again) looking for more materials for my garden (again.) Gardening is already uncool enough considering nothing I’ve planted can be picked and smoked, unless catnip counts, and it doesn’t. But here I am in the garden shop passing by the section of crazy ceramic crap you can use to decorate your garden. For a fleeting moment, without irony, sarcasm, or any intention but a capitalist desire for stuff, I lingered over the garden gnomes and thought about buying one.

In that moment, I sealed my fate as an old person. I can now never live in Manhattan again without the assistance of a deprogrammer.


You know you want me!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Birmingham on June 7, 2006 at 2:46 am

    And here I thought that I was the only laprachaun in your life. What a total diss, you hoochie!!!

Leave a Reply

