We have no juice today


The farmer’s market in Poughkeepsie is a pretty small affair held on the front lawn of an elementary school. If I was in the market for them, I could easily purchase all the fruits and vegetables I would need for a week. However, my mission was to get some juice. Alas, there were only about a dozen stands and the only thing close to juice was apple cider, a drink I only consider consuming in the fall. Since it was about 135 degrees yesterday and the humidity was about 135 percent, I wasn’t really in a fall drink mood. Then, I saw this guy:

And he was so funny, I couldn’t help but buy a jar of his pickles. The first thing he asked me was what color car I was driving, because he matches car colors to the appropriate pickle flavor. Evidently blue cars = sweet ‘n spicy pickles. Who am I to resist?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alyson on July 28, 2006 at 4:07 pm

    i heart old, funny men

  2. Posted by Dutchess of Kickball on July 28, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    OMG, Spacey Tracey makes the best pickles ever. I’ve never personally seen said old man, but Kickball Royalty buys them all the time at the Farmers Market in Rhinebeck (because Bug is addicted to the farmers market and MUST go every sunday.)

  3. Posted by Hollywood on August 28, 2006 at 2:23 am

    I will agree that those pickles are awesome. The farmers market is always an interesting time. Apple cider does in fact rule all year round… though, in fall, it’s better because the apples are fresher… and in the colder weather is becomes one of the best drinks even when you take a fresh cup of apple cider (from Golden Harvest, north of Red Hook somewhere), and nuke the crap out of it, thus making it hot apple cider.

Leave a Reply

