Is it safe?

It was too hot to go to Storm King Art Center on Tuesday, so Birmingham and I made a last minute decision to go inner tubing down the Esopus River. We made this decision so last minute, by the time we got our butts up there, the last bus to the drop off point was almost ready to leave. Seeing the desperation in our faces and the money in our pockets, the nice people at the main office let us participate. In a hurry, I signed all the papers they gave me and handed over my license in exchange for a mildewey life vest, inner tube, and voucher for a seat on their converted school bus.

About half way down the river I realized that the form I signed must have read something like this:

“I hereby relinquish all my rights to sue this tubing company. They gave me the inner tube, life vest, and a ride to the top of the river in good faith that I will not actually try to sit in this inner tube and use it as a vessel for transport down the Esopus River. I am fully aware that the river is a foot shallower than it should be and rocks jutting out of said river will cause any inner tube device to get stuck, flip passengers into an upended position, or otherwise frustrate the experience that said inner tube company does not recommend anyway. By signing this form, I am stating that I do not wish for any staff of said tubing company to care if I live or die or even check on my status from time to time. I am simply renting equipment from these people, and any loss of sentimental sunglasses, pieces of clothing, or pride is my own damn fault.”

Despite that small snag, I had an awesome time. Because of the nature of the rapidly flowing water and the assurance that “you will get wet,” I could not take any pictures from the raft. Lest you miss out on the spectacular crash I had with a rock, I’ve created a re-enactment using Mr. Met (the plush keychain), a gravel driveway, and a chocolate donut.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Birmingham on August 24, 2006 at 5:24 am

    Are you going to eat that?

  2. Posted by The Dutchess of Kickball on August 24, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    Thank goodness there is no one in my office yet, because I am literally LOL.

  3. Posted by Alyson on August 24, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    effing hysterical!

Leave a Reply

