You will find happiness with a new love

I need to let you all know that I ended my long-standing relationship the other day. I admit it’s strange that as recently as last week I was writing about how close we were coming, but something changed. I thought I was in love, but I was blind to how many problems the relationship caused me. Even though I could feel myself becoming dependent, I swore up and down that I wasn’t going to give up on us, and I was going to make it last as long as possible. But out of the blue, a new love came into my life, and I couldn’t resist. I called some family and friends to get their opinions on what I should do, and they were supportive of me taking this chance. They made me understand that even though there were good times in the past, what I really want and need is reliability, a partner that won’t leave me stranded in the cold. So, I’m happy to say that on Friday I followed my heart. I traded in the 1998 SL2 and bought a 2007 Saturn Ion. Birmingham loves it, too.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2006 at 7:23 pm

    Do you think we could double date sometime?

  2. Posted by Alyson on December 4, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    I wanna see a picture! Can you get the cat behind the wheel or something?

  3. Posted by Courtney on December 4, 2006 at 10:14 pm

    I love my ION.

  4. Posted by LetterB on December 4, 2006 at 11:00 pm

    Ha! Good one. I was fooled there for a second. Congr

  5. Posted by Kirsten on December 4, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    ha, congratulations on your new-found happiness!

  6. Posted by Kirsten on December 4, 2006 at 11:59 pm

    er, i meant to post this before (says the 2x comment poster) – noticed you had a wish fullfilled on fussy.org. I like it!

  7. Posted by pagalina on December 5, 2006 at 2:54 am

    Man I’m a mo.
    I got the metaphor and the straight up bit mixed up. New to your site from fussy, dig your writing.

  8. Posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    That? Is awesome.

  9. Posted by Dan on December 5, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    lol – I understand the type of relationship you left. My ‘ex’ actually had a heart attack of sorts.

    They promise us the world but in reality they are just like the rest of us…except they are cars…er something :-P.

  10. Posted by Autumn on December 5, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    I have a 98SL2 as well and she’s dragging. She runs grumpy when it’s cold and she just sounds old. I’m basically hoping and praying she holds out until I can get an Ion Hybrid next year.

  11. Posted by FDP on December 5, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    Well done…think of all the joy you’ll feel with this new “love” in your life for the holiday season and the cold cold snowy winter you’re bound to experience!

  12. Posted by leandra on December 5, 2006 at 5:49 pm

    (I just popped over here from Fussy)

    I have been driving a Saturn my whole life: two SC2s, one three-door coupe, and now my VUE. Love it. My husband has an ION. 🙂

    BTW, I didn’t win anything from NaBoPoMo either!

  13. Posted by Noelle on December 5, 2006 at 6:26 pm

    Wow, double digit commenters. And so many Saturn drivers, to boot! I’m so honored to have you fine people come visit. Thanks!

  14. Posted by stefanie on December 6, 2006 at 4:12 am

    I popped over from Fussy, too, and I just have to say that I’ve been deluding myself into thinking my 1998 Saturn SL2 is “not that old,” but you are bursting that bubble. I am not ready to give up on my relationship, however. Not quite yet. I hope you and your new ION are very happy together, though.

  15. Posted by Foely the Mad on December 6, 2006 at 4:22 am

    Ya know, maybe it’s an teutonically efficient guy thing, but I always just treat my cars the way Cato the Elder treated his slaves. Work the poor things to death and then sell them for whatever you can get.

    Actually need to go duct tape the muffler back on the ’94 Acclaim now. It does most of the heavy work and I think it’s good for another 3 years and a final sale price of $50.

Leave a Reply

