The kind of men you attract when you complain about "the kids these days."

Last night, like every Thursday night in the kickball off-season, I went to meet some friends for trivia night. When we got to the bar, we arranged the tables to make way for our way huge trivia team, got comfortable, and ordered a round of drinks. As we were waiting for the drinks our waitress came over and said, “You do know that Thursday night trivia is on hold until after the holidays, right?” Actually, that would have been a good thing to know BEFORE ordering the drinks, but being that we were already there, we figured, why not see if we can have conversation that doesn’t involve trying to decide what the highest mountain is in Australia.

As we were moving the tables around to make room for more people, we accidentally brushed up against a man sitting at the bar and he joked with us that we were taking up his personal space. We all kind of laughed about it and then found a way to live happily together. Just as I was getting settled, the man got my attention by tapping on my arm. I turned to him and he told me, “I want to let you know that my friend thinks you’re beautiful.” (And Birmingham, if you’re reading this, I could really use a ring, if only to fend off moments like this): I turned to humbly acknowledge the man’s friend, who looked at me and said, “Today’s my 70th birthday!”

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on December 15, 2006 at 4:23 pm

    Yesterday an elderly man at the gas station told me, “If I were driving alongside you, I would wink at you.” I’m sure my face must have registered my surprise but before I could splutter anything out he added, “You have a very unique license plate. I like that,” rolled up his window, and drove off.

    Just thought I should tell someone about that.

  2. Posted by stefanie on December 17, 2006 at 4:48 pm

    That’s awesome. I mean, I could say he’s a creepy, dirty old man, but I prefer to think it was cute. I hope you did the same.

  3. Posted by Birmingham on December 17, 2006 at 4:57 pm

    Noelle, you know we have a very understanding and open relationship. If you really want to run off with an extra from Coccoon who am I to stand in your way of geriatric fulfillment.

  4. Posted by Noelle on December 18, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    He was pretty cute. And Birmingham you should look out, I’m know to go after the gray haired dudes, especially the ones that share my love of swimming.

  5. Posted by Dan on December 22, 2006 at 5:59 pm

    What is this “ring” you speak of? 😛

    (kidding of course)

  6. Posted by Norma on December 27, 2006 at 10:27 am

    All he has are his memories. Humor him.

Leave a Reply

