Another day older and deeper in debt

<a onblur=”try {parent.deselectBloggerImageGracefully();} catch(e) {}” href=”
http://papernapkin.typepad.com/papernapkin/2006/01/hello_out_there.html”&gt;There’s a couple of rumors out there that I want to address. One is that it’s national de-lurking week! If you’re unfamiliar with the term, a lurker is someone who goes around reading blogs and not commenting on them. Now, I’m fine with lurkers, because as long as my message is getting to the masses, I don’t need the feedback. However, I would love some de-lurking because I have a site meter that shows me I get visitors from exotic, far-away places like Manning, Australia; Atlanta, Georgia; and Staten Island, and I’ve been to all those places! I’m curious as to how they’re holding up now that I’m gone.

The second rumor I want to address is that today is the anniversary of my birth, AKA my birthday. I did not have a good night last night, I bumped my head on my ceiling again, and that knocked out a lot of deep seeded fear about my finances, my career, and the fact that I haven’t done enough with my 29 years. So a little commenting would really cheer me up, and be the bestest birthday present ever.

If you don’t know what to comment about, start off with this. What in the heck is going on with those pictures I posted at midnight?

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by xsquared on January 11, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Hi from NJ! Can’t remember how I first found you, or if I’ve commented before, but I’m officially de-lurking 🙂

  2. Posted by lily on January 11, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    Did you post the pictures before or after you hit your head? I’m guessing after, but whatev.
    Don’t waste the day stressing about some arbitrary standards or mileposts you think you haven’t achieved. You’re writing your own script, and that’s fine.
    OMG, did I just say that?
    Have a great day.
    And stop bumping your head.

  3. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on January 11, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    Not that I’m normally a lurker, but I wanted to add a Happy Birthday! to the mix. Debt sucks, but it’s not worth losing sleep over… especially on your birthday. Some birthday advice? Have a beer or two, relax, and try not to hit your head on anything.

  4. Posted by Alyson on January 11, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    your blog is depressing me today! Don’t most people wait til they’re 30 to talk like that? HAPPY BIRTHDAY and I hope you rock trivia tonight!

  5. Posted by Noelle on January 11, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    I’m loving having all these comments before lunch! Thank you all!

    xsquared – thanks for de-lurking. I’ll make sure to spend some time lurking around your site later!

    lily – I did post the pictures after I hit my head! Sadly, I took them while completely capacitated.

    NPW – I love that you delurked long ago! I hope I got all my pent-up sadness out last night, so tonight will be all about the party!

    Alyson – I didn’t mean to be depressing. I’m actually in a much better mood now, especially with all these comments. I’m suprized you didn’t call me at midnight! Thanks for remembering that now that I’m old I go to bed around 10, after Matlock.

  6. Posted by Hope V on January 11, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Weird…I was JUST YESTERDAY thinking of sending you an email telling you how much I like your blog (an email because there wasn’t really any particular post to warrant a random gushy comment like the one I’m about to leave)…but today there IS! Woohoo. But seriously, I think yours is my absolute favoritest personal blog! The reason I was going to write you yesterday, was because I was bored at work surfing around looking at a bunch of other blogs, and most of them got on my nerves so bad that I always had to momentarily click back to yours to remind myself that there ARE people who blog who aren’t completely…well…annoying and self important. I love how down to earth you are (and funny of course! You remind me of my friends) and you’ve become my Gold Standard for Bloggers everywhere (hear that Other Bloggers?! Get with the program!). Ok, gonna stop now, because the flattery (which it really ISN’T flattery because it’s TRUE) is starting to sound phony. And we don’t want that. So anyway, in short: I love my daily hit of the Daily T. Oh, and I also appreciate that through your list I’ve found other blogs that I also really like (for example Circle Jerk at the Square Dance).

    p.s. Reading back over this I almost want to gag because I’m not usually this grossly complimentary…but what can I say- The Daily T RULES, man. It rules.

  7. Posted by Kirsten on January 11, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    H A P P Y B I R T H D A Y!

    money sucks, but i’m happy because I will have paid off my massive cc debt (acquired in college) within a few months. i am a little nervous though, because my new job is in sales with a base salary considerably less than my unemployment benefit. it will be tough for a month or two… but hopefully those commissions will kick in and i shall bathe in champagne.*

    *not that i would, sounds like it could burn.

  8. Posted by Courtney on January 11, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    Happy Birthday!
    As for the pictures, I have no comment, really. They were interesting.

  9. Posted by Susie on January 11, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Happy Birthday! I don’t usually leave comments because I have to do things like verify words. This one is only two letters different than spelling flushot. Anyway, I think I have already told you that I think you are very witty and entertaining, but it is so exciting to hear strangers that regularly read your blog and love it! Way to go! They probably know what you’re up to more than I do. But I am all caught up. Flax seeds by the way are supposed to be very good for you – perhaps in a good omega 3 fatty acid kind of way. But you have to grind them, which I don’t know how to go about doing, otherwise I think you just pass them whole. They are good in baked goods, granola, and things of that ilk.

  10. Posted by FDP on January 11, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Happy B-day Baby! I should always remember your day, cause it is my half- birthday :0 Just to be clear though, I will be turning 26 for the 4th time this year, it was a good yeat, what can I say…no need to leave it behind. I highly recommend such “repeat” birthday performances if they help you to avoid unneccessary worry over life goals, debt and all that other crap. Have a good one!

  11. Posted by Grey Boy on January 11, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Dear Noelle,

    It is warmer than usual up here in the Minnesotan north, which I believe is Our Father, aka The Author of Our Liberty, Himself Above, smiling down and celebrating the anniversary of your arrival in our world with a little bit of global warming.

    Skip the cake; get some ozone before it’s gone!

  12. Posted by elizabeth on January 11, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    You have the best, funniest, wittiest, well written, insightful, thoughtprovoking, meaningful, warmest, honest and forthright blog I have ever read.

    And I wish you all the best of everything on your birthday and on every day of the year. You have become that special grownup person that all parents hope for when they raise their children.

    ps. for you delurkers out there – I’m Noelle’s mom.

  13. Posted by Noelle on January 11, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    Hope – you made my head so big that it exploded all over my computer! BTW – let’s get some new posts up there on the very important blog, mmmkay?

    Kir – let me know how that champagne bath goes. I bet it’s one of those things that’s not all it’s cracked up to be. Like threesomes.

    Courtney – If you ever can figure out why I took a picture of my frying pan, my leftover Christmas decorations and a weird truck, let me know. I have no idea either.

    Susie – thanks for taking the time to word verify, it makes me smile! But then I tried to go to your blog and it’s private and that made me sad! I’ll let you know if the birthday elves get me a flaxseed grinder… (I hope, I hope, I hope!)

    FDP – I never forget your birthday, either! How’s Chi-town?

    Grey boy – I think I’m going to grab some seafood before we run out in 2004…

    Elizabeth – I’m glad I’m not the kind of blogger only a mother could love, but thanks for the kind words! I learned from the best!

  14. Posted by pagalina on January 11, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY NOELLE!
    i’ve commented before so this isn’t officially delurking. I’m the Richmond, Va person that pings your site stats! wheeee!

    Don’t spend your youth worrying! wait til your 41 like me! DOUBLE WHEEE! thats when the angst really begins. but I stressed at 29 too. in hindsight, A) I was a lot thinner back then and B) I had very few financial responsibilities beyond rent and C)I had noone depending on me! what the hell was I worried about?

    Also, i think someone already said don’t worry about timelines, just forge your own! and screw everybody else!

    This has either cheered you up about your B’day or depressed you thouroughly regarding your future!
    CHEERS! 🙂

  15. Posted by Sadie Says on January 11, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    Checking in from Canada– all is well here other than the weird, warm weather. But we’re holding up just fine and drinking lots of Tim Horton’s coffee.

    Happy Happy Birthday!

  16. Posted by The Dutchess of Kickball on January 11, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    Back in the day when I worked for Sinister Corporation my direct supervisor was a Lurker, in that he would come over and just stand behind my chair and wait there for innapropriate lengths of time. He was thus nicknamed the Lurker. As I am claustrophobic, the lurking was even more intense for me. It got to the point where I had to tape out an appropriate distance to stand outside of my cubicle with bright red tape, I kid you not. Did it work, NO! A friend of mine even wrote a song about the Lurker to the tune of I am the Walrus. Did this work to deplete the Lurker from his lurking? NO! Long story short, I feel your pain for the lurking and will do my best to help you rid the world of it. oh yeah, and Happy Birthday, cu cu cachooo!

  17. Posted by Jessica on January 12, 2007 at 7:19 am

    Happy, happy, birthday, birthday! Hope you had a fun night of trivia-winning and debauchery (well, at least one of the two would be okay, but both would be great!). I’m definitely a lurker, though my computer shows that Jessica is my blogger display name, so I feel I must have de-lurked at some point. And then I wonder why I used Jessica and not Jess. Hmmmmmm….a mystery. I think that every time I lurk, I come away thinking “I love her!” I kid you not. So consider your Minneapolis pings to be from people who love you and don’t tell you often enough!

  18. Posted by Noelle on January 12, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Pagalina – I don’t know if the actual people I know in Richmond come here at all, so I’m glad you did. I’m much happier to be 29 than 19, and I’m hoping that I’ll be happier to be 39 than 29, and that I was just having a bad day.

    Sadie – I’m glad to see there are still nice people in Canada. I used to blame the entire country for the summer camp boyfriend from Canada who broke my heart when I was 14. (Yeah, 29 is a much better age!)

    Dutchess – you’re such a badass…

    Jess – thanks for the love, right back to you! I think you commented once way back when I was doing the 30 day project on my other blog. Come back whenever!

    All, thanks so much for the love. My bad mood has lifted and I had a great birthday. You really made my day! I send all the love back to you now!

  19. Posted by Hope V on January 12, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    You are apparently my only friend(insert dejected look here)so at My Only Friend’s request there is…A NEW POST! Woohoo. And of course its just as important and exciting as all my other ones. 🙂 Enjoy my friend.

  20. Posted by erica on January 12, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    delurking…only from NYC/NJ though…i think i found this page through Carl Lennertz but I have fun reading it 🙂

  21. Posted by stefanie on January 15, 2007 at 12:09 am

    Happy (belated, of course) birthday! As for the photos, your guess as good as mine. Except, wait. No. Presumably you took them (right?), so your guess is probably actually quite a bit better than mine. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

