Tom Hanks was not born in Englewood

I can’t think of a better way to spend my birthday than with a group of friends at Trivia Night. We came in second place again this week, and again our downfall was the round where every minute you take to answer the question your potential point value goes down, and if you answer wrong you get negative points. Our first clue was that the person was born in 1952 in Englewood, NJ, and I got really excited, because last night was the anniversary of the day I was born in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey. Despite the fact that if we had waited one more minute for another clue, we would have known the entertainer was John Travolta, we guessed Tom Hanks. Damn.

So the second prize is $10 towards your bill, which is all fin and dandy, except that I didn’t have to pay anyway, because birthday = free ride, baby. Up to and including the dude who walked up to me right after we arrived, stood directly between me and Birmingham and asked if he could buy me a shot. (I was probably easily spotted due to the extra-fun birthday hat the Dutchess of kickball gave me.) I’m not sure what the protocol is when a guy wants to buy you a drink and your boyfriend is sitting right there. Again, I refer to Ricky Jay’s advice to never kick back a score, and a free shot is a free shot. Also, I’m sitting right next to a smokin’ hot single gal, so should I direct him to her? Should I require that he buy a shot for the whole table? Should Birmingham step outside and kick his ass?

In the end, I let him buy the shot, and made sure to make a little kissy face with Birmingham while he was at the bar just everyone knew where we stood, and checked with the Dutchess to see if she wanted me to pass him on. (she didn’t, he was a little icky.) Birmingham did not get to kick anyone’s ass, but he did mysteriously leave his coat on for a few minutes longer than a guy who is always hot should. However, if I hadn’t had that extra shot perhaps I would have had more presence of mind to remember that Tom Hanks was born in Concord, California.*


For some reason, the only thing I ever learned to say in American Sign Language is “I want Chocolate Cake.” I’m really more of a vanilla and butter cream fan. MMMMMM…. But Ricky Jay once taught me to never kick back a score, so when my co-workers showed up with a chocolate cake yesterday, I made a beeline for the corner piece with the huge sugary flower so that I could have my cake and eat it too.

*I actually didn’t know that until I looked it up a minute ago.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by rdl on January 19, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Happy Belated Birtday Jersey girl, from another Jersey girl. Like your blog,adding you to my links; and thanks for the link to mine.

Leave a Reply

