I just finished reading The Places in Between last night. I have nothing but good things to say about this book, which is the story of a Scottish man who walks across Afghanistan in the middle of winter. Okay, I have one complaint, and that is just reading this book and this man’s stories of getting caught in blinding snowdrifts and walking miles and miles with wet socks made me cold, even though I read most of it while under the warm covers of my bed. Also, I borrowed it from the library, and I didn’t get it back within seven days, so it cost me 35 cents in library fines. I’m a little concerned about that, because normally I do everything in my power to have impeccable credit, and I worry about this potential black mark on my record when I try and purchase a house.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on January 24, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    You probably should be worried- library collection agencies are pretty intimidating. In a quiet, bookish kind of way.

  2. Posted by Kelli on January 25, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    I read that back this summer & suddenly my life treking back and forth to work didn’t seem quite as exciting as I’d one thought.

Leave a Reply

