Bangs, above your eyes your hair hangs

Hello Internet! I need your help. I’m going to Edgar by appointment (I have an appointment tomorrow) to get my hair cut. About a year and a half ago I got talked into getting bangs and dying my hair back to its natural mousy brown color. Last time I went to Edgar, I had a sort of “don’t ask, don’t tell” appointment where neither of us suggested a plan for the bangs that were hanging mid-nose, and they were left untouched. Today, my bangs are almost to my chin, much higher than the rest of my hair. So, do I go back to the bangs, or do I try and grow these suckers out?

Here are some pictures to help you help me decide:

The bangs at a wedding in September: They are on their way out, and always part in the same damn place. If I’m not careful, I end up with the look I rocked in the early 90’s, when I tried to get half of the bangs as high as possible, and half making a sexy “wispy” section across my face. Alas, Jennie Garth did it better.

This was another wedding last year, on New Year’s in Richmond. The picture is a little dark, but I include it because on this day my bangs looked better than they ever had before and ever did again. If I could promise that they would do that every day then I wouldn’t even need to decide if I need to cut them or not. Oh, and in case you’re wondering who the handsome man on my arm is, that’s Ah-big-D who was gracious enough to pose as my prom date since Birmingham was unable to make the trip to Virginia with me.

Oh, and if you’re wondering why I don’t just ask Birmingham what he prefers, there are two reasons. 1) When I asked him he told me, “whatever you do, I just don’t want to hear you bitching about your bangs being in your eyes ever again. That was really a really annoying part of my life.” 2) This picture below was taken three days after I cut the bangs for the first time. He was much more interested in other parts of my anatomy to take notice. Ah, true love.

And finally, this is where the bangs are as of a month ago. Not quite long enough to fit in a ponytail, way to long to wear wisping across my forehead. Always, always in my face.

So what do you think, Internet? I have until 5:00 tomorrow to decide. Bangs? No bangs? What to do?

2/3/07 UPDATE: I cut the bangs. I’m banged again. And as soon as I find enough make-up to cover up this wonking zit on my chin, I’ll take a picture and post it for ya’ll. Thanks so much for the comments!

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by The Dutchess of Kickball on February 1, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    Why must the question “to bang, or not to band” be bigger and more intense then the real philosophical questions such as “who am I?” I agree, bangs are a huge issue. If they are too short, they look bad (see new Tara Conner) if they are too long, right in the eyes. Too short, won’t stay behind the ears or in a pony tail. Too long, why both. Damn you bangs. Wish me luck, getting my hair cut on Tuesday.

  2. Posted by Alyson on February 1, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    no wire hangers and no short bangs

  3. Posted by Sadie Says on February 1, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    I must say, I like the bangs. I can’t have them, so I always admire them on everyone else that can. But the upkeep! The bi-weekly trims would be tedious. But still worth it.

    If I could have bangs, i would get the ones that are little long with a severe side part and swept to the side. Sexy, but most likely they only stay that way in the picture.

    I bet this advice from a stranger really helped, right?

    And no, sadly, I know of no untrackable cat litter. 😦

  4. Posted by Chachi on February 1, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    I think…because you know a guy’s opinion has so much weight…you should bring back the 80s with a vengence and get the big poofy thing going with those bangs! You need long bangs for that right? Maybe? What do I know – I give my shicksa 12 bucks and she does something up there and I smile…

  5. Posted by Hope V on February 1, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Well…here’s my contribution. I have worn my hair super short for the past few years (like spiked out a few inches from my head) and last year I started to grow it out. Well, I got to that horrid ‘not short enough to be cute and not long enough to look like an actual style’ stage and I hacked it off because I couldn’t take it. Well, I then decided to grow it out again (all I want is it down to my chin in a cute bob…is that so much to ask??) and it has taken all the willpower I have to keep it going through all the awful stages that it hits on the way down my face. I think about how if I hadn’t cut it off, I would already be at the place I want it, and if I cut it off now I would ruin MONTHS of hard work and mirror frustration. So…my point is…make REALLY sure you want bangs again before you cut them…cause they are closer to grown out than not, and if you cut them and then regret it…it will take forever to get back to the stage you are now.

    Ahhh Grasshopper, that is all the wisdom I have to impart at this time.

  6. Posted by pagalina on February 2, 2007 at 2:29 am

    another opinion from a complete stranger, but i kinda like the bangs, i think you just have to commit to getting them trimmed regularly so you don’t drive birmingham nutso!

  7. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on February 2, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    I seem to make that very same mistake time and time again. I let them get all nice and grown out, then one day I look in the mirror and think: “Wow, my hair looks boring. I should cut bangs.”

    Then I spend the next 6 months regretting my impulsive and foolish decision. Thus, I would opt for growing them out but asking for them to be a bit angled into the haircut.

    That said, yours look cute either way. You just don’t want to end up with bangs like this:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/shelleycoughlin/RandomJanuary

  8. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on February 2, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    Oops. I meant this:


    NPWAndHerBunOfDoom

  9. Posted by stefanie on February 2, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    Look how cute you are! (Sorry; I don’t think I’ve seen your photo here before.)

    I had bangs most of my life and hated them, because of the upkeep and whatnot, but I thought I needed them because of my high forehead. I finally said screw it and grew them out anyway.

    You, on the other hand, have a nice little teeny forehead, so I say no bangs for you.

    (Again, this is just a meaningless opinion from a stranger, so whatever.) 😉

    Incidentally, Metalia was facing a similar dilemma recently. Perhaps some of the advice she got might be helpful?

  10. Posted by Dan on February 2, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Are you eating avocado and jelly? Whozawhaaa???

  11. Posted by Kirsten on February 3, 2007 at 3:05 am

    me likes the bangs

  12. Posted by rdl on February 3, 2007 at 3:39 am

    darn, day late as usual. I like either the hard to attain pic, kinda off to the side bangs or the almost grown out wisp wedding pic #1. Can’t wait to see what you did.

  13. Posted by Principius Ferrobarbus on February 4, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Boy say: “Girl hair nice!”

Leave a Reply

