Archive for February 8th, 2007

Soup Du Jour

I’m home sick today. Nothing terrible, but the sniffles started at work yesterday and were closely followed by the stuffles, and then the dizziness and the desperate need for a nap. Just 5 minutes more, Mom.

Being sick just fits so naturally with having soup for lunch, and I just went down to the kitchen to serve up my daily allowance of vegetables in semi-liquid form. The only huge trouble is that I’m out of crackers and I’m out of bread. The idea of eating soup plain without a starch just kills me. I probably am well enough to hop in the car and drive to the market to get said crackers, but I really don’t want to.

A closer inspection of my cupboard reveals that I have a bag of stuffing. I don’t want to think how long I’ve had the stuffing, but I like to think that it can’t go bad since it’s essentially stale bread. However, do I really want to be adding it to my soup, risking loss of the entire meal?

I think I’m going just heat a veggie burger and save the soup for another day. And then go back to bed.