Wednesday

Let me tell you a little story. It’s the story of a girl who was steadily single for 26 years. There were a handful of dates (about one a year,) a couple of college hook-ups that led to nothing (and by a couple I mean two,) a foray into online dating, a realization that I could no longer honestly refer to the boy I dated in eighth grade my “ex,” since all we did was call each other on the phone and have discussions about how band practice punctuated by long, drawn out moments of silence. In the five or six months that we “dated,” we had only two actual dates. One at the town carnival, and one at the high school’s production of “Into the Woods.”

The point is, that until I tricked Birmingham into going into so many consecutive dates that after a year he had no choice to call me his girlfriend I fell in love, I was always alone for Valentine’s Day. As a completely single girl, it would have been easy to hate the holiday and all it stands for, but that would be giving it power. Instead, I resolved to treat the day like any other day, although I once dressed completely in black to mourn for my romantic side.

I feel that I owe it to that girl I was to remain steadfast in my disregard for the made-up holiday. While I can’t remember what I did in the years before I started recording my daily goings-on on the interenet, I know that last year I went bowling with Birmingham’s buddies. This year, I celebrated by sending out cards that said “Happy Wednesday,” but that was mostly because I never got around to sending the Christmas cards. And even though I don’t like celbrating the holiday, Birmingham and I used it as an excuse to make plans to have a romantic dinner and spend the evening together.

However, Valentine’s Day, much like Glenn Close, does not like to be ignored. After all these years of pretending it didn’t exist, and letting everyone know I didn’t care, I was finally ready to embrace the day and get my romance on. But you know what happens when you eff with Cupid? He has his buddies over at the mother nature department dump a bunch of snow on the highways and byways and prevent Birmingham from being able to make the drive to my place.

Instead of spending the night declaring everlasting love and feeding my honey chocolate covered strawberries in bed, I spent the entire evening curled up in bed with a book in one hand, a cat on my lap, a cup of chamomile tea on the dresser, and a pint of Ben & Jerry’s in the other hand. I think the me of four years ago would be proud.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on February 15, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Yep, Cupid doesn’t really liked to be effed with. He makes comission off Hallmark and refusing his arrows means a year in the red for him. Hope your Thursday is better than your Wednesday!

  2. Posted by lizgwiz on February 15, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Well, that just reaffirms my long-held belief that, no matter what else happens, Ben and Jerry will ALWAYS be there for me. 😉

  3. Posted by FDP on February 15, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    I’ve been meaning to comment for so long, but for some reason I never do, so today I’m going to do it, in honor of your less-than “happy wednesday” I loved your card, it made me smile and in, fact it was the ONLY valentine I got, even if it was intended as a non-valentine. So, thanks for making my day brigher!

  4. Posted by stefanie on February 15, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    The obvious perks of having a man around aside, I think that sounds like a pretty good Wednesday, actually!

  5. Posted by Noelle on February 15, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    NPW – Wednesday wasn’t that bad, actually. Thursday has been a little better, and will be great if there’s more Ben & Jerry’s involved.

    lizgwiz – they are there for you. They love you.

    fdp – I missed you too, always happy to see you comment when you can!

    stefanie – it was a good Wednesday. I even got up on a stepstool and changed a light bulb all on my own.

  6. Great post!! love it!!

  7. Posted by Principius Ferrobarbus on February 16, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    Cupid, he ain’t so bad. Try incurring the wrath of Poseidon, Ares, Hera, Aphrodite, Aeolus the wind guy, and Hephaestus.

    Hephaestus is the worst. It’s amazing how many ways technology can break.

  8. Posted by Kelli on February 16, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Ben and Jerry. Two of the greatest men in the world. (And two that are welcome in my bed anytime!)

  9. Posted by Chachi on February 16, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    I appreciated my Happy Wednesday card – it gave me the chuckle I needed this week. 🙂

  10. Posted by Noelle on February 16, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    rdl – thanks!

    kelli – I assume that you mean the ice cream is welcome in your bed. The actual Ben & Jerry aren’t so attractive, and I don’t think their picture has been updated in a few years…

    Chachi – I’m glad I can do my little best to provide you with a small smile.

  11. Posted by The Dutchess of Kickball on February 16, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    I actually had to ask Flick if her’s also said Happy Wednesday or if that was chosen just for me and my complete singlehood this VD day!

Leave a Reply

