Doing the things a spider can

I’ve just wrapped a busy weekend, and I don’t have the time or inclination to write it in story form. Since Sister Alyson has requested a new post to replace the wonky eye picture, I’ll give you some details on what the past 72 hours were like:

  • Left for the city on Friday with Birmingham for the second annual New York Comic Con.
  • Spent Friday afternoon flashing my “Professional” badge, gaining access to the convention floor hours before the pleebs, who were waiting in the cold.
  • Saw a screening of Battlestar Galactica two whole nights before it aired for the little people.
  • Went to a panel discussion with Tricia Helfer, James Callis, Kevin Smith, and some guy from the marketing department of the SciFi Network.
  • Listened to a panel discussion with Alison Bechtel, Aline Crumb, and two other female graphic novel memiorists. Afterward, I excitedly approached Bechtel to her to tell her how awesome she is, and give her my home address so she can contact my landlady (who mentions she mentions in her book,) and generally butted into her conversation with Aline Crumb to do this.
  • Found out later from Birmingham that the entire room heard my conversation because the mikes were still live.
  • Witnessed hundreds of people participate in a pillow fight in Union Square. Narrowly avoided being completely covered in feathers.
  • Decided to go see Last King of Scotland. The other choice was Reno 911: Miami, but we have a whole year to see which Oscar noms it will get.
  • Walked so much my feet hurt.
  • Ate out so much my wallet hurt.
  • Went to my parent’s place in Jersey to watch the Oscars Sunday night.
  • Happily ate four slices of pizza because my mother bought three pies for five people.
  • Called out my dad when he made a disgruntled snort during Melissa Etheridge’s thank you to her wife. His reply: “Well, if that woman is her wife, than what is she called?” It turns out my dad’s only problem with gay marriage is lack of good terminology. (I like to think.)
  • Was admonished by Birmingham for being a chronic name-dropper after mentioning I met Meryl Streep, and saw “Pan’s Labyrinth” at the same time Lily Taylor was in the audience, and live on a farm where John Lennon stayed once. Now that I have hereby written this on my blog again, I promise I will no longer drop these names like they’re hot. If Birmingham is in the room. And I remember this pledge. And there’s no one around I REALLY want to impress.
  • Tied in the family Oscar pool at 16 correct guesses. Here is my key to success: If you haven’t seen the short features or documentaries, assume that the one about the Holocaust will win. If you don’t know which one is about the Holocaust, then pick the one with the most violent sounding title. Also, assume that “Norbit” disqualifies Eddie Murphy.
  • Got snowed in after the ceremony, had to make camp at parents’ house. Returned to the Hudson Valley late morning, very, very tired.
  • Advertisements

    5 responses to this post.

    1. Posted by rdl on February 27, 2007 at 3:17 am

      All sounds very fun. what is the ny comic con? convention for comedians? – duh. Where in NJ? are you from there as well? Jersey girl here.

    2. Posted by Meredith on February 27, 2007 at 4:46 am

      I too got 16 correct in the Oscar pool at the party I went to. The shorts and Alan Arkin did me in…

    3. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on February 27, 2007 at 1:11 pm

      So jealous you went to Comic Con- I would’ve loved to have seen Brian Vaughan and Jeff Rose.

    4. Posted by Noelle on February 27, 2007 at 1:16 pm

      rdl – I should have made that more clear, considering I knew nothing about it a year ago. The comic con is a comic book convention. And I’m originally from Bergen County.

      Meredith – congrats! Did you hear that Eddie Murphy stormed out of the theatre before Arkin even started talking?

      NPB – I saw Brian Vaughan last year, he’s easy to find because he’s got throngs of people around him at all times.

    5. Posted by stefanie on March 4, 2007 at 7:32 pm

      Ha. I love your rule that “Norbit” disqualifies Eddie Murphy. I think, in fact, that it should disqualify him from making any future films as well.

    Leave a Reply

