At least they weren’t Uggs

I was back in the optometrist’s office today because the new glasses weren’t working out. While I was browsing for new frames, an old couple waiting by the months old magazines caught my attention. They were both dressed rather nicely, but their feet were clad in velcro sneakers with good arch support in bland, neutral beige. I’m sure they got them at the drugstore. Then and there I declared that when I get old, I’m not going to succumb to the temptation abandon fashion completely by wearing sensible shoes everyday. Even if it hurts, I’ll keep my youthful ways and I’m going to look good, damnit!

Then, I looked down at my own feet and realized I was wearing snowboots.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Hope V on March 7, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    Hahahaha, today is the first day in a year that I have worn my tall- previously much beloved- heeled boots to work with the outfit I bought them for- and with which they look awesome. For the past year when picking shoes…the no heeled comfy kind have won out EVERY TIME (now mind you, my comfy shoes do not have velcro and they’re cute…they’re just not smokin’ like some other foot wear I have- but never wear anymore). Which when I think about it…kind of makes me feel sad and old. Although… not sad and old enough to give up my waterfront property in Comfy Town.

  2. Posted by lizgwiz on March 8, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    I’ve been insisting on comfort (along with style) in my footwear for some time now. I can only imagine what I’ll be wearing in my dotage. Though maybe once I start tearing around on a Rascal or Hoveround, I’ll go back to wearing kicky little shoes–I won’t need to walk in them, after all!

  3. Posted by Kelli on March 8, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    I used to swear I’d never wear “commuting shoes” and then change into heels once I got to work. Yeah…that idea lasted about a week!

    Thanks for your permission to wallow comment on my last post. I appreciate it!

  4. Posted by stefanie on March 9, 2007 at 2:12 am

    I love Liz’s plan. And a while back, Guinness Girl was organizing a Rascal Gang… Think of it… we wouldn’t just be tough and mobile; we’d be stylish!

  5. Posted by Noelle on March 9, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    hope – The comfy shoes have so much power over me, too. I just can’t stand suffering for footwear, even when it looks so good.

    liz – I suppose we should all just get Rascals now!

    Kelli – If you’re still feeling blue, I hope you are doing it wearing a nice pair of fuzzy slippers.

    Stefanie – let’s get a committee working on this stylish Rascal thing, posthaste!

  6. Posted by Mer on March 9, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    I think heels are a misogynist form of bondage reminiscint of the Chinese foot-binding practice that turned women’s feet into two-inch contorted nightmares. “They” are just trying to keep a good woman down, I tell you..especially on the less than steady NYC streets. I’ve taken too many spills that are embarrassing and painful enough that I know that Carrie Bradshaw’s penchant for Choo’s while walking in NY is an utter fantasy. Choo’s are for girls who take cabs everywhere.

    I love my Uggs. But damn, my calves look good in a two inch heel.

Leave a Reply

