I did not know that yesterday

I got an email from my mom over the weekend in response to my last post. She wanted to know if I had heard the most recent news from the company that operated the birthing center where I was born. The center recently closed under the guise of finance, but more likely due to political pressure. Many protesters are convinced that it was forced to close because the center was also one of New Jersey’s leading abortion providers.

“Did you know you were born in an abortion clinic?” my mom asked. No, I didn’t. Actually, neither did she. It was only a few years after I was born that she realized it was a good thing the nurses knew to send her to exam room #1, and not exam room #2. I think it’s a sad little irony that I was born in a place that served both women who were having the best day of their life and women who were having the worst day of their life.

My mom also noted that each midwife’d delivery required the attention of an MD for insurance purposes. Hers was named Dr. Livingstone, and it took all of her might not to say “I presume” every time she met with him.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by FDP on March 12, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    All I have to say is: birthing centers rock and so do the midwives that work in them!! I wish that the American medical system was more supportive of non-medicalized birth!

  2. Posted by Principius Ferrobarbus on March 13, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    You think that’s bad? One of my therapists was named “Dr. McCoy”. Dammit Jim.

  3. Posted by lizgwiz on March 13, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    I know I’d have given in to the “I presume” impulse at some point, lacking your mother’s obvious restraint. Hee. I have a friend who picked her veterinarian solely because his name is Dr. McCoy.

Leave a Reply

