It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

I’ve been watching a lot of House, MD lately, so I assumed that when I saw the doctor yesterday he was going to be a jerk by storming in, diagnosing my problem in a second and then insulting me three ways from Tuesday. I was prepped and okay with that, because at least I would have a diagnosis. But when my substitute doctor showed up (my primary’s on vacay for a week…) he had the demeanor of a librarian. Or Mr. Rodgers. Either way, he was really nice and concerned for my well-being. He told me I don’t have a sinus infection, because I would KNOW if I had a sinus infection. He told me that he’d give me antibiotics if I wanted, but, “you don’t seem like the kind of person who likes to take medications you don’t need.” I guess he did have me figured out.

He did diagnose one significant problem, and that is an eight pound parasite that I’ve been carrying around for about fifteen years or so. Despite myself, I’ve been feeding this malignant growth every day, and letting it shed cells that aggravate my respiratory functions. I will probably live with this malady for another five years or so unless I take drastic action, and the thought of that is too terrifying. However, as long as I stay healthy and keep my environment clean, I may be able to avoid future sinus and breathing problems. As gross as it seems, I want to share a picture I have of the thing that ails me:

I have a feline infection. I’m allergic to the cat. Additionally, I have an aversion to cleaning, so there’s lots of hair and dander and my old cottage has lots of hiding places for all that junk. If I want to stay healthy, I’ll have to get rid of the cat, or find a way to confine her to a small section of the kitchen. Neither of these things will be happening, however, because she’s old and set in her ways, and I find that her company is worth a little suffering. I’m simply going to have to clean more, and there’s no pill for that.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lizgwiz on March 21, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    Oh man, that would be my nightmare diagnosis! No way the kitties are going, so I’d just have to suffer, I guess.

    I’ve heard one way to reduce the allergens given off by cats is simply to wipe their fur down periodically with a damp cloth–no need for actual bathing (and who needs to bleed that much anyway?). Apparently it’s not always the dander so much as it is their saliva that’s the problem.

  2. Posted by Alyson on March 21, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Did you have to post such an evil picture of The Mickster?!

  3. Posted by Kelli on March 22, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    I wouldn’t ever want to get rid of my kitties either so I completely understand that you must go forth and do what everyone hates – clean. Yuck.
    And if your cat is at all like mine? There’s hair freakin’ EVERYWHERE.

  4. Posted by Noelle on March 22, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Lizgwiz – thanks for the tip! I tried it yesterday, and it made her very shiny! The only problem is that it also made her immediately lick herself to get the unwanted water off…

    SisterAlyson – you are just as allergic (if not more) to her than I am. Yeah, she’s a cutie pie, but I think that photo captured the evil behind the meow.

    Kelli – I went to get a coke out of the fridge yesterday, and how in the world does cat hair get in the fridge? I just took on the unpleasant task of cleaning the fridge last week!

  5. Posted by Della on September 27, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    I have two cat babies and I’ve finally gone back for allergy shots. No problems any longer so it’s great.
    Also, 1000 mg. of Vit. C does wonders too.

    A wipe down with a damp cloth does help also.

    Stay well and hug your kitty.

Leave a Reply

