Out of sight, out of mind

I’ve made this commitment to clean the hell out of my cottage, and you know what? It’s awesome. For the first time in over a year, I feel like I can really live in this place and call it a home. It just takes some elbow grease and a positive attitude. For instance, I’ve spent the winter being somewhat distraught that the bathroom wall lacks significant insulation. (It also houses the world’s most powerful heating duct so when I sit on the toilet first thing in the morning I have the odd sensation of feeling like at 1980’s Big Mac: hot on one side, cold on the other.) Since this cottage was built before indoor plumbing, the bathroom was added as a bit of an afterthought, and the hot water heater sits inconveniently behind an old shower curtain inches from the toilet next to the uninsulated wall. I started vacuuming back there today to get rid of a year’s worth of cobwebs, but I stopped myself, realizing that those cobwebs are so thick, they’re probably serving some kind of insulative purpose, so I may as well keep them.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sadie Says on March 24, 2007 at 3:16 am

    See? Somebody always has it worse. I have a freezing cold, uninsulated bathroom too, but the heating vent is completely useless. Only a small puff of warmish air comes out of it. Sometimes I’m shivering so bad that I can’t pee!

    Maybe the vent is clogged with all of those insulating cobwebs… hmmm

  2. Posted by Patry Francis on March 25, 2007 at 2:41 am

    Thankfully, spring is coming!

  3. Posted by Man of Action on March 26, 2007 at 12:30 am

    Please don’t confuse the Big Mac with the McDLT.
    I mean–honestly. It’s just insulting.

  4. Posted by stefanie on March 26, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    I was considering correcting you on the Big Mac reference myself, but thought it might be rude. Glad to see Man of Action’s taken care of it for me. šŸ˜‰

    Ugh. I should really take some inspiration from you and start a cleaning spree myself, but it’s just so much work! I admire your effort, however. Well done.

  5. Posted by Principius Ferrobarbus on March 26, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    I just gave in, recognized my monumental cleaning incompetence and hired a maid service.

  6. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on March 26, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    This weekend I actually thought (briefly) about how nice it would be to have someone come clean my place up for me every week.

    Then I remembered my salary and laughed/cried and continued scrubbing two days worth of dishes.

  7. Posted by Noelle on March 26, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    It was so nice to have a clean home for once, even though I would love for someone to have done it for me. I took the money I would have spent on a merry maid and spent it on new pants yesterday. So worth it.

    Stefanie – as long as the Man of Action is around, you never have to worry about being the rudest person commenting! (MOA, you’re right again, I can’t even believe you can stand to be my friend.)

    Also, I’m sorry to have to do this, but for reasons of safety and privacy, I need to turn on comment moderation for a while.

  8. Posted by lizgwiz on March 27, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    You could always consider the cobwebs an early Halloween decoration. You know, if you need an additional justification. šŸ˜‰

    The McDLT! I always thought the marketing campaign for that was hilarious. “Hey guys, we’ve invented a hamburger with LETTUCE and TOMATO!” Cutting edge!

Leave a Reply

