7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lizgwiz on April 11, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    I love, love, love the silkscreened tags some manufacturers are coming out with–you know, the manufacturers who actually love us, and our delicate flesh.

  2. Posted by NancyPearlWannabe on April 11, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    Yep- the Banana Republic and J.Crew tshirts with the silkscreened tags are the way to go. I hate scratchy tags on my neck, but surprisingly, I hate them on the bottom corner even more. (Urban Outfitters is notorious for that.)

  3. Posted by mermu on April 11, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    Tags suck but we are all slaves to branding in one way or another. I like those tagless tags that aren’t tags at all but tattoed reminders of who and what the shirt came from.

    I think you have to let go of your anger and revel in the truth that in 1 short evening you beat the evils of this world by doing it yourself. Down with tyranny and torturous tags by the simple subversive act of ripping them out and sewing the holes.

    I still get a kick out of defeating the evil ShowerMonster that stopped up my shower. All it took was 19.95 for my “sword”, a little elbow grease and BAAM! That ShowerMonster is back in the pits of hell (or perhaps the neighbors pipes?) where it belongs.

  4. Posted by Mary Sheehan Winn on April 11, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Oh I laughed. Thanks for tackling this issue.
    The seam ripper is so familiar and I have a few ‘trendy’ pieces, all black, of course 😀
    The whole tag thing is a scourge and the new tatoo type is great
    We’re all victims of the manufacturers one way or another.

  5. Posted by Noelle on April 12, 2007 at 11:36 am

    lizgwiz – I bought a pack of those tees for working out. They are brilliant.

    NPW – The other thing is that I always just throw my tees in the wash on the same cycle. I never check the tags. I’m becoming a big B.R. fan.

    mermu – today, I take out the tags, tomorrow I take out Bin Laden. Evils be gone!

    MSW – Welcome! The seam ripper is indeedy a wonderful tool until all shirts become tattooed.

  6. Posted by rdl on April 12, 2007 at 11:48 am

    You have way more patients than me – 30 min! I can’t even get myself to sew back the button on my peacoat (that I’m still wearing 😦 that’s been off since last year.

  7. Posted by stefanie on April 12, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Wow. I have been annoyed by tags, but have never gone so far as to re-sew a shirt to remove them!

    With the sort of stiff plasticy tags that I know are going to be a bitch to remove, I sometimes try trimming them in a rounded shape but leaving them intact. The rounded edges don’t irritate as much as the pointy square ones. I haven’t tried this enough times to guarantee it will work in all situations, however.

Leave a Reply

