When the cat’s away

I was seriously considering making a strong case to my landlady about how nice it may be to have some screens installed in my windows so I could get some fresh air in the cottage this spring without making the place a free for all for every single bug in the Hudson Valley. Oh, and maybe while I was at it, I thought it may be nice to ask about getting an exterminator up in the place, you know, the kind that doesn’t shed fur all over my comforter.

Yesterday, my landlesbian moved back up for the summer, and I was chatting up her girlfriend* in the afternoon, because she’s the more sane member of the relationship, the one that you go to when you need to get an actual problem solved. Before jumping right into my request for screens, I asked her how the move-in went.

Completely nonchalantly she said, “Fine. The pipes flushed out, and everything was just as we left it in the winter. Well, except of course for the mouse shit all over the place. The mice just love to run loose all winter long.”

I’m thinking that someone who is that dismissive of a mouse running free and pooping all over your stuff isn’t going to be as concerned about my stinkbugs as I would like.

*For those of you Birmingham-types who get excited at the near mention of the ladies who love, let me set you straight that these are hard-core 60’s era feminist lesbians, so get your brain out of Maxim.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by rdl on May 1, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Too funny! will there be a sequel?
    and i’m waiting for your 10. 😀

  2. Posted by stefanie on May 1, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    No screens? Gah. You might as well live in a tent! (Actually, there are no screens on a pair of new windows in my office building, and it makes me very nervous when I see those windows open. I don’t know what stinkbugs are, but I am not a fan of bees.)

    Also, “get your brain out of Maxim” made me laugh. 🙂

  3. Posted by -R- on May 2, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Yeah, my house is infested with mice, no big deal. WHAT????

  4. Posted by Noelle on May 2, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    rdl – now that the landlady’s living up here again, I’m sure there will be a free flow of stories.

    stefanie – I think that a tent will actually be more bug-proof than my cottage.

    -r- – seriously, I know we live in the country, but that doesn’t mean the country has to live in the house.

  5. Posted by Hope V on May 2, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    I don’t have screens either, and my landlord is impossible to actually get to do things (he agrees and is very nice about it…but he just never gets around to anything- but I don’t complain because he also doesn’t get around to calling me if I didn’t get around to paying rent on time). But you can get these screen things that you fit into the bottom of the window (they expand width wise to fit any frame) and then you open the window and rest it down on top of them. You can get them in different sizes- none are big enough to throw the windows open as far as they can go, but they are big enough that you are getting a decent amount of air in. My dad got mine for me, and Im not sure where, but I would guess that hardware stores might have some. In case that helps.

Leave a Reply

