Honor thy mother

By all accounts, my mom is the best. Additionally, the lady can write, as evidenced by her emails to me and an speech she wrote to introduce Alan Alda during a bookstore signing that was so well written, it threatened to outshine the star. So, this mother’s day, when we were both working in our respective bookstores and had no time to travel the 100 miles that separate us, I asked her if she would like to guest blog in order to share her talents with the entire internet, or at least the 90 people or so who read this blog on a daily basis. Her topic was anything of her choosing, and she happened to pick one of my favorite subjects: me. So without further ado, please put your hands together for Elizabeth, AKA Mom.

I was so flattered when Noelle asked me, Elizabeth, aka MOM to write a guest blog in honor of Mother’s Day. I’ve been thinking what to write, and all these wonderful scenes from Noelle’s early life kept coming to me, so I’d like to share my favorites with you.

Noelle was a happy baby, always smiling and content…I loved being her mom.

In random order, here are some insights into what Noelle would become as an adult:

Noelle as a PHILOSPHER:
“Mom”, she asked me, “what’s inside a blueberry?” To this day I have no answer to that profound question.

Noelle as MATHEMATICAL GENIUS:
She was a year and a half; we were at a restaurant and to keep her busy while we waited for our burgers to arrive I took out a bunch of pennies. I started counting “one, two, three…..” and without hesitation, Noelle continued, “four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten.” I NEVER taught her how to count, but I guess she was paying attention to all those Sesame Street shows. Her Dad and I knew we had a genius on our hands that day!

Noelle as THEATRICAL ENTREPRENEUR:
When she was about six, she wrote, directed and produced a puppet show, starring Hibernatin’ Bear. Little Sister Alyson was given a supporting role. When it was ready to be shown to the public, she made up tickets, and set up a ticket booth for advanced sales in front of our house. The only problem was that we lived on a cul-de-sac, and if more than two cars passed in an hour, that would be considered heavy traffic. Needless to say, sales were sluggish, but the audience of Mom and Dad and the grandparents made up for it with their enthusiastic response.

Noelle as GENDER CHALLENGED:
We went “down the shore” (as they say in New Jersey) for vacation when Noelle was probably in first grade. She had to go to the bathroom, and we pointed out where it was located. After several minutes, she came to the table, holding back tears. “I don’t know which one to go to” she explained. I went with her, and couldn’t stop myself from laughing. It was one of those oceanfront restaurants where they thought it cute to label the doors to the restrooms “BUOYS” and “GULLS.” “Which one am I?” she cried.

Noelle as MECHANICAL GENIUS:
We rented a house on Cape Cod one summer. The shower didn’t work right, and the water leaked all over the bathroom floor. After a few days of this annoyance, we went upstairs one night to find out Noelle had fixed it…….I never did figure out how she did it!

Noelle as BABY KILLER
When little sister Alyson was a baby, and Noelle just turning three, she came to me one day and announced that she had “buried the baby.” Hmmm……I raced to the crib, and there was Alyson covered with every blanket and pillow that Noelle could find…You don’t need to have a degree in psychology to figure that one out!

Noelle as a SWAN
Noelle loved the water……I have pictures of her going off the VERY HIGH DIVE when she was a tiny tot…..while all the other Moms were struggling to get their kids to put their faces in the water and “blow bubbles” Noelle was passing the deep water test and swimming out to the dock.

Those are some of the happy memories I have. Thank you for inviting me to share them.

Thanks Mom! By the way, while I was on the phone with her last night, she mentioned she’d be devastated if she got less than 5 comments, so you know what to do people!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by la on August 3, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Lovely comments- I can tell she is a cool mom and that you have a warm & loving relationship. That is such a gift.You are both great writers- fun to read. I’m enjoying your blog. I know this sounds so random, but I found your site when I Googled “cheapest way to get from B’ham to New Paltz”- isn’t that incredible? Thanks! La from Al
    btw-fyi- Montgomery is the capital; Bham is the largest city 🙂

  2. I love little stories like this! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

