Rent Girl

I went home for lunch, and was dismayed to find the cottage in a right dirty state despite having vacuumed and cleaned it on Friday night. Also, the lock is sticking, the toilet doesn’t flush right, and there is no air conditioning to speak of.

After making my lunch, I drove to the insurance company to renew my renter’s insurance. (Really, it’s the best deal around if you rent, and possibly the only financially responsible thing that I do.) The problem is that as soon as I turned in the check and got my new policy, the first thing that came to my head was, “great, now I can burn down my home and be fully covered.” It’s kind of a sick thought that I furthermore wish I hadn’t said aloud, because the guy behind the desk gave me a kind of weird look. I’m just hoping I get to keep the policy. I like being responsible.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by 3carnations on July 16, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    That’s one of those jokes that sounds much funnier in your head before you say it out loud. 🙂 Been there, done that. (ill timed joke, not apartment burning…)

  2. Posted by Kirsten on July 16, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    my renter’s policy also covered the contents of my car… after my camera broke, i left it out in the open on my front seat – then kindly asked a co-worker to smash my passenger side window and “steal” it. they refused. stupid co-worker.

    thankfully i was able to beg and plead with canon to fix it for free… legally.

  3. Posted by lizgwiz on July 16, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    I really need to get some renter’s insurance. Not that I have plans to burn down my house or anything! I keep thinking “but my stuff’s old and not worth anything,” but I guess even old stuff would cost a lot to replace.

    Did you feel like one of those people who makes bomb threat jokes at the airport? 😉

  4. Posted by stefanie on July 17, 2007 at 2:22 am

    I was going to comment on the post, but instead I have to hassle Liz. You DON’T HAVE RENTER’S INSURANCE??? Seriously, my dear, it costs about $100 a year. (Or, it did when I was renting. I can’t imagine it’s gone up all that much since then.) And you usually get a discount on both that and your car insurance if you get the policy from the same agent. It’s totally worth it.

    (Did I ever tell you my dad is an insurance agent? Well, he is.) 🙂

  5. Posted by Aaron on July 17, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    I’m tempting fate with the renter’s insurance. Or perhaps dancing a dangerous tango with it, anyway. Or maybe we’re just f-ing with each other. I don’t know. Bottom line, I know as soon as I cave and decide to get covered, my apartment will burn down whilst on route to the insurance place.

  6. Posted by Brando on July 17, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    It shocks me how cheap renter’s insurance is and how many people don’t have it. When I rented in Chicago, my place got burglarized, and renter’s insurance paid for almost everything they took.

    One note: if you have a lot of jewelry, check your policy — there’s probably a cap on jewelry reimbursement. You can add more coverage but you have to request it.

  7. Posted by Noelle on July 18, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    3carn – I’m glad to hear it’s the former and not the latter.

    kir – I hate it when co-workers won’t help me commit insurance fraud. It’s the worst!

    liz – I’ve also learned that it’s no good to make bomb threats at the airport. The hard way.

    stefanie – Isn’t it weird how we start to take after our parents as we get older? Of course, they were right about the insurance thing.

    aaron – get the damn insurance. They will even pay for your hotel room in the case of said fire.

    brando – thankfully, I’m not a jewelry wearing kind of girl, and I think my insurance covers more than what I own. I pity the guy who realizes how easy it is to break into my place but then realizes he’s not going to walk off with much more than a TV that takes 10 minutes to warm up before the sound works properly.

Leave a Reply

