The Heart is a Lonely Hunter

On Saturday night, Birmingham and I had a lovely dinner at a place near Vassar called The Dutch Cabin. Despite the name, they mostly serve Mexican fare, and despite the name, Birmingham graciously treated me. (It did seem like the most likely place a couple like us would “go Dutch.”) We had a lovely time, but as our discussion turned towards how much longer he would be living in middle-of-nowhere-town and how I’ve got eleven months left on my lease, I got sad with the knowledge that we’re not going to be shacking up together any time in the foreseeable future, and that most nights my only company is the cat.

The next day, I was a bit perkier, and we had breakfast together. Afterwards, we were chatting, and I apologized for being sad the night before.

“You don’t have to apologize about that, I understand.”

“I’m glad you do, it matters more to me that you know why I’m sad.”

“Of course I understand why you were sad. You’re a girl, and girls are emotional and they get sad for no reason, and we men just have to deal with that.”

“Sweetie, you know, you shouldn’t worry so much about me getting sad as me getting really really angry.”

Then, I punched him in the gut. Not a clever retort, I know, but it was, at that moment, the thing that elevated my mood as far as it would go.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stilettoheights on August 6, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    I like that you punched him in the gut…it does seem like an appropriate response to me…right?

    or am I crazy…and emotional…

  2. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on August 6, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    I say he’s lucky you only punched him in the gut. But then, I am expecting a visit from my monthly friend this week…

  3. Posted by Beej on August 6, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Jeez. It must be your time of the month.

    *duck*

  4. Posted by lizgwiz on August 6, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    I agree with nancypearl…I’d say he’s lucky you didn’t rack him. 😉

  5. Posted by -R- on August 6, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    [shouted with a raised fist] Birminghaaaaaaam!

    Reminds me of when H said I’m not as dumb as most girls. I believe he got a punch as well.

  6. Posted by rdl on August 6, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    makes perfect sense to me.

  7. Posted by lily on August 6, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Hmmmm….now let me understand this: you actively SEEK to co-habit with a person who believes that girls get sad for no reason and it is the lot of men to endure such erratic weirdness?
    Love is strange.

  8. Posted by stefanie on August 7, 2007 at 12:51 am

    What R said.

    Sheesh.

    (This is one of those times when Birmingham is glad you don’t use his real name, right?)

  9. Posted by Aaron on August 7, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Punching people always makes me feel better. Also: groin kicks bring a smile to my face.

  10. Posted by Kirsten on August 7, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    no.comment.too.busy.crying.for.no.reason.

  11. Posted by Noelle on August 8, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    stiletto – it felt appropriate, just not intellectual.

    npw – I just wanted to prove a point, not maim for life.

    beej – actually, it’s not. My rage knows no seasons.

    lizgwiz – I keep telling him how lucky he is…

    -r- – I love when they try and be sweet, but it’s just so wrong.

    lily – My biggest motivator is saving money on rent. Please don’t confuse me for someone romantic.

    stefanie – exactly, and he knows that if he ever does anything really bad, “Birmingham” becomes REAL FIRST NAME REAL LAST NAME who lives at 123 ANYWHERE STREET.

    aaron – funny, most men don’t usually approve of groin kicks.

    kir – don’t cry, it’s only a blog!

  12. Posted by Mermu on August 8, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I would have seriously considered something a little lower with a different appendage!!!

    Men.

  13. Posted by theo on August 18, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    It’s not my gut that I would be protecting. You left him off easy1

Leave a Reply

