Automatic for the People

At work today, I had to take my wallet out to check on something. When I was packing up my things before leaving, I shoved the wallet into my lunch bag instead of my purse, where it belongs. I don’t know why I did that. Anyway, the point is that after work I went to the mall and found some lovely tops at H&M. I reached into my purse to pay, but alas, the wallet was safely in my lunch bag in the car in the parking lot all the way on the other side of the mall.

When I first arrived at the mall and was walking towards H&M, the incorrect belief that I was walleted gave me a powerful feeling of being able to purchase anything that struck my fancy. Walking back from the store, I felt a sudden feeling of powerlessness, looking at all the shiny sparkley items for sale that I had no power to buy because my wallet was not with me. All of a sudden, I wanted it all. Alack, I could procure vittles from the food court, pecker products from Spencers, sunglasses from the hut, or even a new puppy, because I had no money. I felt lower than low.

Regaining my wallet helped a little, and also gave me the ability to purchase Season 10 of the Simpsons (an unplanned moment of capitalism.) My mood picked up ever so slightly, but then I became consumed with a thought that occurred to me as I was leaving the mall:

How can a door be labeled “automatic” if you have to do something to make it work properly?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on August 8, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    So did you go back to buy the stuff at H&M, or did you decide it was the universe telling you that you didn’t need new clothes?

  2. Posted by Noelle on August 8, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    The universe and I are currently not on speaking terms. I bought the clothes. I’m wearing one of the shirts right now, as we type.

  3. Posted by Aaron on August 8, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    I can’t answer your (doubtlessly rhetorical) question about the automation (or lack thereof) in that door, but I thought you should know that “pecker products from Spencers” is probably the funniest thing I will hear all day. So thank you.

  4. Posted by Kelli on August 8, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Nobody says no to H&M. Nobody.

  5. Posted by Meghan on August 8, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Ever notice that when you’re shopping for something specific, you can never find it–but when you’re in a position where you can’t buy anything, you want everything you see? H&M is the exception of course, because you can ALWAYS find something there and the price justifies it every time.

  6. Posted by stilettoheights on August 9, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    this is the second blog I have read today that mentioned Spencer’s how fantastic!!!

    I want to hear more about the clothes you bought

  7. Posted by Alice on September 2, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    i have never thought about that sticker on doors before.
    how curious

Leave a Reply

