For What You Dream Of

Dreams, according to many psychiatrists who accord such things, are often the mind’s way of sorting out things and filing thoughts away to make room for new ones. At least that’s how I think of them, because the dreams I remember having are usually a jumble of stories based on recent events in my life. For instance, yesterday, I read a very funny McSweeney’s piece called
Mundane Dreams
(Do click on it, but then come back!) Also, I spent a little time overhearing folks in my office talking about current Broadway theatre. The subsequent dream that fell out of my head was something like this:

I am in college again. We are working on the final play of the year. However, I graduated seven years ago, so I am not working on the play. I walk into the stage manager’s booth (it the carpet still smells fresh like it did when it was new my freshman year.) I pass my freshman self running the sound board for “Into the Woods,” a position I took simply because I had a crush on the sophomore boy who was in charge of sound for that show. (This is one of the reasons I became a Theatre major!) I walk to the window of the booth and wave at the professor who is directing the play. He waves back and says, “You’re just in time to stage manage Xanadu! Your grade depends on how well the show goes!”

I yell back (the booth is two floors above the stage), “I graduated seven years ago and I don’t know any of the cues!”

He yells back, “We’ll just have to find someone else then!”

Then the dream ends, without any significant anxiety except for the one about how I’m not getting enough sleep because I was up late playing around with Facebook. Side note: I am having a very fun time playing around on Facebook, it makes me wish I was in college wasting time again. Not because I want to stage manage plays, but because the college issued me a really comfy desk chair, and I’m currently doing all my home computing on a really old iBook resting on a pile of bills that need to be paid while sitting on an old throw pillow on top of an end table which precariously rests on my uneven floor in a cottage with bats.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on August 23, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    It’s not often I hear someone remarking on how comfortable their college dorm was. More like how dismal, or oddly shaped, or dysfunctional. Good for you. 🙂

  2. Posted by 3carnations on August 23, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    According to my recent dream related activities, I guess I would have to suggest you go stage manage Xanadu…

  3. Posted by BOSSY on August 23, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Bossy only knows she can’t sit still when other people try to tell her their dreams. It’s as if she’s just injected ADD.

  4. Posted by stilettoheights on August 24, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    wait….you were a theater major?????

    holy hell, I went to NH Institute of Art for Acting!!!!

    I blogged about dreams today too…also I nominated you for something on my blog.

  5. Posted by lizgwiz on August 24, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    My “actor’s nightmare” dreams are always much more stressful than that. Maybe stage managers know how to handle their stress better. Hee.

  6. Posted by Hope V on August 24, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    I used to teach high school and I used to hate the dreams where I would (in my dream) wake up, go to school, have to teach, inevitably have to deal with some heinous student behavior (which I didn’t actually have to deal with too frequently in real life)to which I would respond by yelling viciously (which I also didn’t do in real life) and then would be ultra confused when I would then wake up and realize that it was a dream and I now had to ACTUALLY go to work. It sucked. I think you should get credit for the work day if you pre-live one in your dream and thus not have to go that day.

  7. Posted by stefanie on August 24, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I actually think one of the major perks of my current life over my college one is a more comfortable couch. I do miss the naps, though. I have not taken nearly enough naps since I left college.

  8. Posted by Aaron on August 24, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    Having a comfy chair is important. My desk chair is a super fancy, expensive-ass something or other that my old roommate stole from his dot-com company when they went bust seven years ago. It was one of those places where overpaid hipsters rode around the office on scooters and occasionally did “work”.

    My point is: thank God for this chair, because sometimes I think it’s the only thing keeping me from full-blown insanity.

  9. Posted by rdl on August 26, 2007 at 3:09 am

    I love dreams, except for the reoccuring one where i’m still in high school and then the really freaky, scarey ones, like when you can’t move – did i say i love dreams?

  10. Posted by Tinetastic on August 26, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    One time I had a theatre dream that I was playing Elphaba in Wicked and I didn’t know the script or staging, only the songs. And there was no one who would help me put on the green paint. I think I’d been listening to the soundtrack too much.

  11. Posted by -R- on August 27, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Last night I dreamt/dreamed(?) I had to do a debate with a partner, and my partner was a friend that I “broke up” with and haven’t spoken to for several years. And then Metalia and her husband were there, but I couldn’t mention our blogs because Metalia’s husband didn’t know about her blog. And then I think the Russians tried to attack the hotel where we were staying. So, in summary, I should not eat Chinese food before I go to bed.

  12. Posted by stefanie on August 28, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    I doubt R will come back here to see this (will you, R?), but I just have to say, in reference to her comment, that I had a dream a couple months ago that I saw Isabel (of Hola Isabel) on a bus with her husband and baby, and I couldn’t identify myself either, because my sister was there and I didn’t want her to know about my blog. Weird. Glad I’m not the only one with bizarre “blog people” dreams.

  13. Posted by Dan on August 31, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Wait wait wait… I ran lights for that show, not sound.

Leave a Reply

