I’m back!

In the comments of the last post, I took some (I hope) gentle chiding from Kir, who feels that a blog with the name “daily” in the title should post more than once a week.  In response, I put together this long-ass post with links and pictures and fun and games.  However, the hour is getting late, and the long-ass post still needs a lot of work on it, and the kickball newsletter is being ignored, and in light of the less-than-eight hours of sleep I got on my parents’ couch last night, I don’t have the mojo for more blogging at the moment.

So in short:

The work conference in Providence was great and time consuming and inspiring.

The last day of the bookstore was bittersweet.

The kickball game I missed was lost, and so was the one after it.

Lola the dog is soft and cute when washed.

My suitcase is still packed.

Don’t make a recipe that calls for fresh pumpkin when you can use canned instead, because the hour spent cutting pumpkin with a less-than-sharp knife is better spent: writing the kickball newsletter, cleaning the kitchen, napping, paying bills, watching “Once Upon a Time in China,” or blogging with links.

Do you like my October masthead?

I need a new camera, I think.

I’m going to be going to another conference in two weeks, but I’ll try and not drop off the radar that time.  In the meantime, you’d never miss me if you were using Google Reader!  Long live RSS!

If you’ve never stayed at the Providence Biltmore, I recommend that.  It’s even better if your company pays for it…

I missed Free Pizza Night for the fist time since I joined the gym.  Could this be the first step towards good health?  Probably not, considering how much cheese I put on my pumpkin casserole.

15 responses to this post.

  1. I love your new masthead…..

    also…..pumpkin casserole….um what is that??? It has cheese???

    I think it sounds like heaven on a plate (or bowl, or whatevs)

    Thanks! The pumpkin casserole could have been good, but somehow it got too watery. I think it’s because I replaced the chicken stock with vegetable… Either way, there is nothing like melted cheese to cover all mistakes! (And for the record it was on a plate.)

  2. I LOVE the new masthead! Fall is my favorite, so any fall themed things are therefore my favorite…so your masthead….yup…my favorite. 🙂

    Well, thank you!

  3. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on October 2, 2007 at 8:29 am

    Yay! You’re back!

    Pumpkin casserole sounds delish, as does free pizza. Mmm. Pizza.

    If I could go back in time, first I would prevent George H.W. Bush and Barbara from meeting and procreating, and then I would have gone to free pizza night instead of the casserole.

  4. I’m with Stiletto. The pumpkin casserole does sound heavenly. Watery or not, I’d love the recipe.

    Glad you had a good trip!

    It’s true, cheese makes everything better. I’ll send you the recipe later today if you would like!

  5. Love the new masthead. I was going to tell you that even before you asked. 🙂

    Also, pumpkin casserole?? That sounds almost as exciting as the butternut squash lasagna and squash enchiladas I heard about recently. Mmm. I love fall, and all those things that go along with it. (I just with someone ELSE would cook these lovely fall dishes FOR me!)

    Wow, butternut squash lasagna. It’s not even 10am, and I want lunch now!

  6. The masthead is great.

    And the pumpkin casserole sounds mighty tasty. (And I can attest to the fact that butternut squash enchiladas are FABULOUS, and very easy to make.)

    Thanks, perhaps I’ll post the recipe for everyone later!

  7. see/ tough love works!

    I feel like we are now closer than ever, and I’ll never, ever do it again.

  8. Welcome back. Believe me, I know how hard it can be to stick to a regular blogging schedule. Love the masthead though, and the new site.

    Thanks! Yeah, blogging is easy if I do the same thing every day, but I am nowhere near doing the same thing every day!

  9. it never once occurred to me that your name implied daily posting. hunh. says a lot about my lack of brain power. and lowered expectations in general! 🙂

    If you look back to my archives from my first blogging year, you’ll notice that I was anything but daily. At one point, I was monthly. I just like the way the two words sound together.

  10. Yes, the masthead is very fallish. So is Bossy’s. Fallish from two years ago…

    I don’t know if I’m really going to be able to commit to the Dooce-style change the masthead every month thing, but why not try?

  11. Oh, thank Christ you’re back. I guess I can take down the banner hanging from the side of my house which reads “Christmas Christmas Tree! WHERE ARE YOU?!”. Isn’t it nice to be missed, though?

    Also, I love the new header, and like that other person up there, I was going to tell you before you asked. You beat me to it.

    I’m glad something tiny and insignificant like the masthead doesn’t go unnoticed. It is nice to be missed. I was only gone a week or something. I should go away for a month, and then really get the love!

  12. I can’t wait for the long-ass post!

  13. Hey –

    Sorry I had to bolt on Saturday. The kid was getting cranky (turns out, she was getting sick!).

    Still, it was great to see you.

    xoxox

    Good to see you too! Emma’s so cute!

  14. Blogging is hard work, dude.

    Word.

  15. I love the new masthead. LOVE.

    Wow, thanks!

Leave a Reply

