Not to put too fine a point on it

Yesterday, two of the greatest things ever happened.

1. I went to Dairy Queen and got a pumpkin pie blizzard. It was ha-mazing. They put the vanilla soft serve in a cup and they mix it with pumpkin pie filling and some kind of small crunchy graham cracker things and top it with whipped cream and cinnamon. I sat in my car in the rain and the dark and ate it all and was so happy.

Then I went to the gym. Where:

2. I walked on the treadmill at a leisurely pace while watching “Pushing Daisies.” Not only is this show quickly endearing itself to me with its quirkiness, they also paid homage to the one and only They Might Be Giants, aka my favorite band, by singing “Birdhouse in Your Soul” which is such a favorite of mine that I use it for my “power song” when I’m running and need a little pick-me-up. However, last night, instead of making me turn the treadmill up past “3” (I was full of ice cream, you know) the song just made me beam like an idiot, which would have bothered me if I went to a gym that’s all about not judging people.

So today, it’s rainy and miserable, but I’m still in a bit of a perky mood all thanks to a touch of endorphins, a dash of fantasy, and 2 cups of fall spiced ice cream.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, that ice cream combo sounds heavenly. I used to go nuts over Baskin Robbins pumpkin ice cream. But alas and alack, there aren’t any BRs up here, just a local chain of custard places that everyone but me seems to love with an almost religious devotion.

    It was really good. If I had a custard place around here, I’d probably have some kind of devotion, but alas, Dairy Queen has my vote, at least until they close for the winter.

  2. Oh my lord, I love They Might Be Giants.

    Ok, now I can read the blog!

    If I had know that was what was holding you back, I would have mentioned it sooner!

  3. Ok, I want to go to Dairy Queen and get a Pumpkin Pie Blizzard. Which is funny because I don’t like ice cream.

    This thing goes way beyond ice cream.

  4. I haven’t watched Pushing Daisies yet. I did do a leisurely workout last night though!

    I highly recommend. Watch on a good TV, though, because it’s a very colorful show.

  5. Your blizzard experience sounds almost like my almost as good and mouth watering favorite – pumpkin latte (from starbucks).

    And thank you for reminding me of TMBG. They are such a pick me up. I might go buy their album right now. What’s weird is how they make all these cheery songs but if you listen to the words, some of them are serious.

    I like that.

    Yay Fall!

    You should go buy any one of their albums! The words are so great, I love that they’re all set to catchy tunes.

  6. I am going directly from school to DQ. I don’t even know where there is one out here, but I will locate one. I don’t care if I have to drive to Poughkeepsie.

    I need pumpkin pie blizzards.

    There is one in your area, I checked. I hope they have what you need.

  7. I thought of that song as soon as I saw your title. Awesome.

    The pumpkin pie blizzard sounds yummy!!!

    Yeay TMBG and Pumpkin Pie!

  8. I’m just loving “Pushing Daisies.”

    I would love to be loving a Pumpkin Pie Blizzard, but there are no Dairy Queens around here. Sigh.

    Damn. Yet another reason not to move west.

  9. I think it’s so cute that you have Dairy Queen. I want to visit a Dairy Queen one day!

    They are like Burger Kings, but better. In many ways. Put that on your America Trip itinerary!

  10. Oh, the DQ. Never has Milk+Cream+Cold+Assorted Chemicals brought so much happiness.

    You are bringing too much reality to this fantasy!

  11. I watched the first epi of Pushing Daisies and loved it so much, since then I have no seen it, I think I will wait for DVD, the show is adorable.

    pumpkin pie blizzard!!!!!!!

    we were in the ghetto the other day and stopped at the dq there to get one, the ingrate working claimed they were “out of pumpkins”

    moron

    I don’t think he realized that 1) there are no real pumpkins involved and 2) the DQ should never, ever, ever be allowed to run out of them.

  12. I love TMBG. I KNEW I liked you! 🙂

    Also, I heard Pushing Daisies got picked up for a full season. I am shocked but pleased. Yay!

    That is shockingly wonderful news.

  13. Also, I know I already commented, but I cannot believe I forgot to mention I have a friend who is a food scientist at Dairy Queen. (They are yet another company with its headquarters here in the Twin Cities.) He refused to admit any responsibility for the atrocity that was the scary blue Scooby Doo Blizzard, but it sounds like he should be glad to be associated with the Pumpkin Pie one!

    Give him props for me!

  14. Wow, i might have to run down to DQ if the Sox weren’t winning the series tonite- guess i’ll have another beer instead.

Leave a Reply

