What did you do during NaBloPoMo?

nablopomo07.jpgI started blogging in January of 2006 because I moved from New York to the Hudson Valley and I wanted to document my last 30 days in New York. I came up with 30 activities that can only be done in the city and did one a day. Then, I moved up here and started a new blog, this very one, and named it for the crazy farm/commune that I call home. After living here for a while, I revived the blog and documented 30 days of activities in the Hudson Valley, which was totally fun. When I moved over to WordPress, I blended the two blogs together.

So I was thinking that NaBloPoMo is 30 days, and I since I always need something to write about and since it’s good to get out of the house in November, I decided to do another 30 days: Hudson Valley blog. So, in the next 30 days, I’m going to be doing these activities in the Hudson Valley (some have to be on specific days, some have to fit with my work schedule, some may change when I decide I want to do something else):

The Stormville Airport Craft Show is evidently the Hudson Valley’s Best Kept Secret. On November 4, they are having a “Christmas in November” craft fair which I hope to attend.

Locust Grove is the home of Samuel Morse, which I’ve driven by often, and I hope to dot dot dash to this month.

The Poughkeepsie Post Office is not just a regular post office, it’s a historical landmark. I have to mail this letter, so I might as well do it from a beautiful place.

The Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center is on the Vassar campus. I drive by their solitary stone walls all the time, but I never seem to make it inside. Perhaps I will, and check out what they have.

The Hudson River Museum is a place I must go to. I mean, it’s a museum of the very river valley I live in!

The Bardavon is a beautiful old opera house around here that I’ve always wanted to see up close.

Mid-Hudson Civic Center has an ice skating rink! I must check this out for myself, as ice skating figured prominently on my New York blog.

The Vanderbilt Mansion sits on beautiful grounds, which I’ve visited numerous times, even before I moved up here. However, I’ve never been inside, so that’s what I’m going to do.

The Red Rooster was part of my Hudson Valley blog before, and on November 3, it will play host to our end of season kickball party, so I think I’ll include it again, because it’s a sports bar with a baseball field in the back and it’s in the middle of a residential neighborhood. I love it.

In looking for a place to swim around here, I was suprized as anyone that the Poughkeepsie Middle School Pool is the nicest around. I’m sure there will be a day that I have nothing else to write about, so I’ll give you a tour of the place I go three mornings a week.

There’s no place like home, and from my home, I can take a Walk in the Woods and see some pretty cool things. You might even get some cool pictures of the stone walls.

November 22 is Thanksgiving, and Terrapin Restaurant in Rhinebeck, like they did for Easter, will likely supply my family with dinner.

The Palisades Center is not exactly in the Hudson Valley, but I love malls, and this one has a lot to offer. On the way back, I can take the beautiful Palisades Parkway, a road that goes nowhere.

My Yoga teacher got a real job and no longer teaches on my side of the river. I need to find a new class. I am very inflexible right now.

In the year Birmingham’s lived in the Middle-of-nowhere-town, I’ve never done anything more than go to his apartment and his grocery store and back. I’m determined to find something fun to do in his little enclave.

When kickball season ends, Trivia Night begins. This is the kind of competition I can get behind. I hope that my friends join me. (Actually, I hope this for all the activities!)

On November 18 there is a Swim Meet in Ossining. It will be my first real swim meet. I think I’m going! Eek!

Is there anything sadder than a dying mall? What about the $2 Movie Theater in said dying mall? It’s something I can do after work, so it’s in.

November 6 is election day. A large part of living here is serving my public duty to research exactly what is going on with local elections, and then just vote for the Democrats. (he he) Unless I get Jury Duty in November, I’m going to count voting as an activity.

I think that Storm King, with all its sculpture, is open until November 15. I’m going to try and find a warm day to enjoy it.

I don’t hate Starbucks as much as I used to, but I’d rather drink my coffee at locally owned Muddy Cup, where the couches are comfy, and they trust you to just leave the money on the counter.

Holy crap, this sounds awesome. On November 14, the East Fishkill Library hosts Knit at Night which is a bring your own needles and yarn and learn to make something event. I’ve owned the needles and the yarn, but turning them into something has eluded me.

Did you know that the picture in the masthead is me? Can you see how long my hair is getting? It’s bad. I mean, Birmingham likes it, but I think I’ve got to get Edgar to take care of the split ends.

This counts as going out, because I don’t have cable at home. I just heard that the SciFi channel is making us wait until FRAKKING April for new Battlestar Galactica episiodes. However, there’s some kind of preview thing for a show called Razor happening on November 24. I’ve got to find a TV and get a watching.

November 5 is free pizza night at the gym. I will be there, oh yes, I will.

The diner around the corner from me has a car show every Monday night. It’s the strangest thing. I went this past week, but I didn’t take any pictures. I guess I’ll just have to go back. (I also can’t find a link)

That means that activities 27-30 are still up for grabs! I may make them up as life happens to me, and I’ll keep updating this post with my progress.

Bonus! I’ve also got a contest I’m running during the 30 days. I don’t expect to get many comments since so many regular commenters will also be writing all month long and won’t have time. So, if anyone manages to comment on all 30 days, you will be the prizewinner! If more than one person does it, hell, you’ll all get a prize. Also, if you comment on my blog, I’ll comment on yours, at least once.

Oh, and yes, Mr. Met (the plush keychain) is back.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Dude, that is awesome! Love the commenting challenge, and the events challenge you’re doing yourself. I wish I were clever enough to work out something like that, but my brain is currently mush.

    If I wasn’t copying my old template, it might have been harder…

  2. Man, you’re such a show-off. I’m all proud of myself for blogging every day and you’re making a damn month-long field trip out of it!

    Seriously, though: awesome. All of it. And I already have the 30 comments prize sewn up, so get shopping.

    Um, I kind of figured you would. I’ve already got your prize ready. Don’t disappoint!

  3. Posted by tinetastic on November 1, 2007 at 7:19 am

    If you care to go hiking try Mohonk. . .

    If you care to go walking, try the rail trail. . .

    those are both nice things to do on a sunny fall day.

    those are both on my side of the river, but still in the Hudson Valley.

    I don’t mind crossing the river, and I love Mohonk. We also have a rail trail in development on this side, I may give it a go.

  4. how exciting, I love upstate NY, we drive through it when we go home to visit, and it’s so beautiful, it’s almost eerie, I can;t wait to read these.

    When I drove cross country this summer, the absolute best part was coming home from Niagara Falls. I hope I get some good photos for you!

  5. Oh, I am so commenting every day. You better believe it. And my prize better be a visit from the CCT herself. 🙂

    Sounds like you’re going to have a super fun month! But you forgot to mention the most important date. November 24: NPW’s birthday.

    Your birthday is on BSG day. That is awesome. And if you and Aaron are the only winners, maybe a visit could be arranged!

  6. Your banner picture says so much – I love the colors being all earthy and then your red shirt splashes me. It’s natural yet the laptop is very high-tech. I also love Mr. Met — I think you should take him on all field trips and discreetly place him in each photo.

    Thanks for the banner comment! It took a lot of trial and error to get that just right. As for Mr. Met, click on some of the Hudson Valley posts, and you’ll see that great minds think alike!

  7. I love a contest! I was wondering too if readership would actually go DOWN in November because everyone’s too busy reading other NaBloPoMo posts, but don’t worry; I will be here commenting away! 🙂

    Also, I love that you’re going to “dot dot dash” your way to Samuel Morse’s house.

    I know that I’m not going to really get to comment like I would enjoy. Thanks for getting my weird sense of humor.

  8. Good luck! This is a great idea to not only have material to write about, but lots more culture and knowledge of your home and things to do. I might just have to steal this idea and blend it into one for me.

    Sometimes, you just need a reason to go out the front door.

  9. Those sound like worthy goals. I should do something similar, even though I’m not NoBlahBlahing. I’ve lived here for 20 years, and there are still things I haven’t managed to do yet.

    Yeah, sometime, I’ll have to do 30 Days: the place where I grew up.

  10. Hey, I sit at a desk ALL DAY LONG. So I can comment dammit. EVERY DAY. And I never win anything. So this makes me DETERMINED.

    I’m doing NaBloPoMo too, in an attempt to DeStagnate my blog…but I have NO idea what i’m going to write about all month!!!

    Yeay! I’m so happy about fellow computer jockeys! My advice to you about bloggins is to just keep it short and sweet, and it makes the days fly. Ain’t no shame in a two sentence post.

  11. I am totally stealing this idea and coming up with at least 10 things to do in the Twin Cities!

    Dude, make going to see a show produced by the Emigrant one of them!

  12. I remember going to The Hudson River Museum on a class trip when I was a kid. It’s very, um… river-y. 🙂

    Awesome, I love rivers.

  13. Posted by EvilKate on November 1, 2007 at 11:04 am

    I like contests. Also, your activities sound like so much fun. Can you plan an itinerary for me in Western MA? I mean, you seem to be in the know about events.

    I don’t know if I want to plan one for Western MA, I’d get too jealous that I couldn’t do them!

  14. wow , i’m impressed, so organized. I’ll be flying by the seat of my pants, tho i do intend to make a list.
    And did you say prize? do tell!
    Good Luck!!

    The prize, I assume it will come to fruition as my days pan out. Perhaps it will be a bauble from the Palisades Center, perhaps a map of the Hudson… Will contain something Christmas Tree related.

  15. you KNOW how I feel about that free pizza night.

    And I will still go. With pride.

  16. NaPoBloMo sounds exhausting already.

  17. Posted by littlestar89 on November 2, 2007 at 6:35 am

    Oooooh finally a blog that has the definite promise of me getting hooked! I’m from SA… So seeing some NY activities is something new to me! Looking forward to the next month of blogs! 🙂

  18. That’s some agenda!

    This month, I think I might eat a taco.

  19. This is a great idea – I should have come up with a plan for NaBloPoMo, I’m still in a panic.

  20. Wow. This is a great idea for your 30 days.

    Cheers to NaBloPoMo!

  21. Posted by Flick on November 4, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Well that is a WHOLE LOTTA driving around I guess I’ll be doing for ya huh?? lol (Except I don’t think they will allow you to swim or hit the gym in that cast of yours… just sayin…) Feel better!

Leave a Reply

