Get your hair did

The funny thing about having your foot in a cast is that it’s really really hard to shower. They told me I could put it in a plastic bag, but I can’t put any weight on it. Try and figure that one out. When I had my accident, my hair was already dirty, because I hadn’t washed it Thursday morning. Then, it stayed unwashed for my entire hospital stay. On Sunday night, my mom made a valiant attempt to wash it in the kitchen sink, which worked okay, but never quite got all the shampoo out.

Then, she had a brilliant idea. She decided that we should take a mother/daughter trip to the hair salon to have the hair washed by professionals. And while we were at it, we got our hair cut as well! These little outings are seriously improving my quality of life. Unfortunately, I woke up in some pain this morning, so today’s outing is a trip back to the hospital to make sure that I don’t have a blood clot. Bummer.
img_1741.jpg

That’s Mr. Met sitting on my the booty that covers my cast, checking out all the hair supplies for sale.

And that’s my self-portrait, with crutches, and a new ‘do.

img_1744.jpg

UPDATE: Not a blood clot! But it took about 6 excruciating hours to find that out. I’ll tell you all about it on the next post.

22 responses to this post.

  1. You go girl with your new hair and your crutches. You make being lame SEXY! 🙂

    Is this the first time you have broken a bone? Been on crutches?

    Girl, I was born in a birthing center. This was the first time in my entire life I’ve even been admitted to a hospital.

  2. CCT, the hair is rockin’! I dig it.

    Mr. Met!!!

    Thanks!

  3. Great cut! What a neat dirty hair solution!

    Hope today’s trip is quick, painless, and uneventful.

    It worked well (the cut, I mean.)

  4. Your mom sounds like the best ever! Great hair- and it’s CLEAN! Did you get the great little head massage too? I love those. Except some shampoo people aren’t good at them. I tip according to the GooseBump Factor. Lots of goosebumps=excellent head massage! No goosebumps=no significant head massage effort. I still tip them…but only the bare minimum. 🙂

    The GooseBump factor equaled a 10% tip. It was better than the cut, anyway.

  5. Love the do, CCT. I’m going to go clip mine this AM. I think a 1 setting on the clipper is the right length. No, it’s not a flowbee. I bought a professional grade clipper.

    Hoping your trip to the hospital proved uneventful…

    He he, flowbee.

  6. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on November 7, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Dig the swoopy side bangs. Damn, if I knew my Mom would take me on outings I’d break my ankle, too.

    After a year, the bangs are finally making their exit. BTW ankle break for mom time – not worth it! Just go out to tea or something.

  7. You are rockin’ the hair and the crutches!

    Thanks!

  8. Posted by tinetastic on November 7, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Love the new hair! How long are you on these crutches? Perhaps I can make you crutch cozies so that the armpits don’t get too sore.

    I’m on the crutches for the duration, and the key is to put all the weight on your hands, none on your armpits.

  9. Posted by SisterAlyson on November 7, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Nice cut! That’s pretty impressive considering you went to the same place that 60 year old ladies go (no offense, mom).

    I wanna see a picture of your peg leg!

    What hospital did you go to?

    Yeah, they were trying to convince me a nice microdermabrasion would be in order. No thanks, I’m wrinkle free at the mo.

  10. That’s a great haircut (though I don’t know what it looked like before). Your mom is the bestest.

    She is the bestest.

  11. Reading your last few posts, it sounds like you have a world-class family supporting you (even if your dad is republican-ish.) Seriously, good luck with the recuperation and with NaBloPoMo. And congratulations on being the first person outside my built-in audience of 3 to comment on my blog. Many thanks and you are welcome back any time.

    He’s not ish, he’s a full-fledged Republican, but in all the lovable ways, and in a way, it’s made me a more tolerant person. At least, I can’t rail against all of the GOP in general. His politics are the mystery of the ages. I will be back, as I fully believe in cross-commenting.

  12. Super cute. You should break your foot more often.

    Once is enough, I know this.

  13. Cute! But does this mean you have to go to the salon every time you need to wash your hair for the next month? That could get a wee bit pricey.

    Also, a blood clot WOULD be a bummer. Fingers crossed that that’s not the case.

    It’s like when you get your hair done and it never looks the same when you get home. It was good once, and I have to deal with the fact that it’s kitchen sink washing from here on out. At least there will be fewer split ends!

  14. Lookin’ good! I love salon visits.

    Me too!

  15. In my near future there is a visit to the mall hair salon. We have been cutting my son’s hair since birth, and it takes forever and he doesn’t like it. We finally convinced him to go somewhere to get his haircut. He had conditions, though. I had to get my haircut at the same time so we could see whose haircut was done first (awesome – a speed haircut) and then he wants a merry go round ride. It works out well, though. I think the two haircuts combined will cost barely more than what I pay for myself at my regular salon, and it should all take less than half the time that it normally takes for he and I to get separate haircuts. I think he’s on to something…saving time and money.

    Hang on to that son of yours, he’s a smart cookie!

  16. Super-cute!!! Love the hair! 🙂 I hope your hospital visit went okay.

    Thanks! And thanks for the email today!

  17. Like the do!! hope the leg is ok!!

    Thanks! It is!

  18. Lovely, just lovely. Did Mr. Met get a trim too?!

    He stayed hidden until the very end, as I am shy to bring him out in public sometimes…

  19. Posted by Jennifer M on November 8, 2007 at 1:08 am

    When I broke my ankle in grad school and couldn’t put any weight on it, I went home to mom and dad too. The shower in their bathroom was just a big huge stall and involved no tub, so we took a plastic chair from the porch and stuck it in the shower for me to sit on. If all you have are tub/shower combos, I don’t know how that would work, but just a suggestion.

    We’ve thought about that. Sadly, I haven’t progressed to the “able to get upstairs” stage of the injury, so sponge bath in the downstairs bathroom is the best I can do.

  20. love your hair and glasses are super cute too…..I am strangely enthralled by the saga of your poor ankle.

    I am very curious about what happened.

    I’m glad you like the story. The best I can do is bring entertainment to the people. Now I just have to sit down and write this thing.

  21. Posted by Jamie on November 8, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Your hair looks great! Glad to hear it wasn’t a clot.

    Thanks! I just have to figure out how to wash it now!

  22. oh good – glad it’s not a clot! i cannot imagine your ordeal… i’ve never broken anything, but i had 4 stitches in my left pinky once and i thought THAT was a horrible inconvenience in the shower. btw, you look fabulous!

    Yeah, I’m a big crybaby if I get a hangnail or something. I don’t think this will change things, but it does add perspective. I’m glad I took that shot while I was still fresh!

Leave a Reply

