Elevation

The sum total of my day after the hospital trauma was spent in bed, with this view:

img_1754.jpg

Why my parents moved to this townhouse, I had my own apartment in the city, and my sister was still in college. So, when I stay at their place, my bedroom is the library with the fold-out couch. It’s always felt a little wrong, the older sister not having a proper bedroom, but these days it’s not so bad. Since it’s the month of Thanksgiving, let me quickly divulge 5 things I’m thankful for:

1: My parents have hardwood floors throughout the main floor.

2: There are no thresholds in any of the doorways.

3: The kitchen chairs (pictured) have wheels! (I am becoming masterful at using these for getting about.)

4: There is no shortage of books in this house.

5: I was sent a bouquet of flowers the other day by intrepid friends who figured out my parents’ names and address by using the “internet.” The card read:

We hope you have a speedy recovery.
From Waka Kickball

*by opening this card you have made any accident responsibility claims to Waka Kickball null and void
13 responses to this post.

  1. I love the card!

    My mom moved after I went to college, and while my younger sister had a real bedroom, my room was the office, which had a sofa bed.

    I thought being older was supposed to come with better benefits!

  2. Love the bookcases! i need some badly. Glad you’re having a better day and are on the mend.

    We are a book-based family.

  3. Hahaha…I love that card. Rest well, Christmas Tree!

    Mr. Met!!!

    *parts of the card may have been made up by me for comedic purposes*
    For a Red Fox fan, you really seem to like Mr. Met.

  4. Books are good, but did I mention I’m a Braves fan?

    I’m sorry to hear that.

  5. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on November 9, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    Aww, flowers. Yet another reason I’ll be breaking my ankle as soon as your cast comes off.

    NPW, I will send you flowers. Please do not break your ankle, it is not worth it.

  6. Just for fun, you could say to your parents, in a really whiny voice, “Isn’t there anything to READ around here?” :p

    He he, that was like the first joke I made when I got here.

  7. Which books are on your agenda?

    Right now I’m reading “The Year of Living Biblically” about a guy who follows every rule of the bible. I just finished “Maynard and Jennica,” which was awesome. After that, I may move on to “Arthur and George,” which my mom liked a lot.

  8. Not just a well-stocked bookcase, but an ORGANIZED one! I am impressed.

    I am also impressed that you are still finding things to blog about even though you don’t often get to leave the house. You are in it to win it with this NaBlo… thing.

    They did own a bookstore for 19 years… Another fun fact is that all the books on that bookshelf are autographed. And oh yes, I will blog, and oh no, I won’t complain.

  9. A bookcase is always a wonderful view! And rolling chairs across a hardwood floor is always a convenience! And truly, I can think of no better place to recover than a library . . .

  10. Because I yelled “Mr. Met!” a couple times, now I feel like I need to shout it every day. A running gag.

    Don’t worry, it will get old fast.

  11. I like George and Martha.

  12. Posted by tinetastic on November 10, 2007 at 9:37 am

    El Prez asked me about sending you flowers. . .I told her to ask the Dutchess about the addy. I do hope they were nice flowers. . .Pantsless keeps going over budget with the parties, so idk how much we had for flowers.

  13. Ooooooo Look at all the books!!!

Leave a Reply

