Don’t lose your marbles

My computer’s still broken, so I’m writing this quick before work gets busy. Firstly, I’m sorry that you all found my flashback story to be painful! I was surprised, because it’s my next installment of the story where the pain really started. It wasn’t until I hit the ground and my brain processed what had happened that I started to feel anything. I threw you all for a loop by mentioning that I heard the sound of broken bones. I’m not going to lie, that was a scary sound, but the feeling of pain took a few moments to arrive, and believe me, arrive it did. When I get a chance, I’ll elaborate in another post, but I’m going to try really hard not to gross you out.

In the meantime, the good news is that I’m feeling much better today, December 12 (almost six weeks later.) I had my second physical therapy appointment last night, where I pointed, flexed, and wrote the alphabet with my big toe. It was just like band camp! I was also given a task of moving marbles into a cup using only my toes. I gotta say, it was not easy at first. There was a lot of lip biting and grabbing of the arms of my chair before I could get those suckers where they needed to go. But by the time the 30th marble hit the cup, I was an expert. So, if you ever need some marbles moved in an extremely laborious way, I’m your woman. At the end of the appointment, I got iced down for 15 minutes, and it felt great, and I gained enough flexibility to drive my car to work this morning! (caveat: it’s only a 5 minute drive, I don’t think I could do much more than that at this point.) The next step is my doctor’s appointment on Monday where I’m hoping I’ll get cleared for becoming weight bearing, and then long distance driving. After that, there will be no one who can stop me!

16 responses to this post.

  1. Dang! I just spilled a cup full of marbles last night and I couldn’t figure out how to clean them up! Toes! Of course!
    Really, good work with the PT. Bad news for that offending kickball…

    Yeah, it turns out that contrary to all opinions, toes are the best way.

  2. I’m not sure I could pick up marbles with my toes on my non-broken foot. Impressive!!!

    I’m a tad concerned that my right foot will overpower my left at this rate…

  3. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on December 12, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Yeah, seriously, I broke some toes once and now they don’t bend at all, I wouldn’t be able to do the marble thing! Good job, you. And congrats on driving yourself to work. Pretty soon you won’t even need to sleep in the kitchen!

    But how will I cook in bed then?

  4. Do you feel completely liberated driving yourself to work now?

    Yeah, and the radio was playing “Wanted Dead or Alive,” and I was ROCKING.

  5. Good – then Bossy isn’t the only one who reads “sound of bones breaking” and faints dead.

    I guess not. Sorry about that.

  6. My home computer is broken too! Aargh!
    I’m glad PT went so well!

    These computers break too easily. We should all just go back to books.

  7. Posted by Jennifer M. on December 12, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    What if you have horrible depth perception and just can’t aim the release of the marble? Is that somehow taken into account? Or do you fail PT? Do you get graded?

    I’m at the point where I had to feel my way to the cup, and it’s got a really wide mouth. And no, no grades, and this is the first time I’ve ever really, really wanted to pass with flying colors, because the reward is “walking.”

  8. Wow, this new toe dexterity could come in handy. Think of all the things you’ll be able to pick up!

    It’s good because I drop stuff a lot.

  9. Glad to hear that you’re getting better and better… 😉

    Next time, pls don’t get yourself injured anymore, especially before the game… 😀

    If there is a next time…

  10. You’re driving again! Whoo! I assume this means you can shower in under an hour now, too? Life is lookin’ up.

    The shower is down to about 45 minutes, and that’s with shaving!

  11. Now who could beat that as a stupid human trick? No one!
    Good-bye invalid-ism hello FREEDOM!

    I will get there, one toe at a time.

  12. Posted by gregorymeyer on December 13, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    This makes me want to challenge my feet and toes to do more. Apparently, my feet and toes are slacking. I don’t know if they could perform the tasks yours did recently.

    Like I said, I’m worried that I really am going to have a bionic right foot compared to the left…

  13. Driving is good, even just for five minutes.

    The injury post was very striking because it reminded me of the many sports injuries I’ve seen in excruciating slow-mo, and I think that amplified the effect. Any time your leg bends sideways, those injuries are really, really bad.

    Hope the PT continues to go well.

    I think I’m used to thinking of injuries in slo-mo as well.

  14. I do not feel confident that I could successfully move marbles with my toes, even injury-free! Put that on your resume, for sure.

  15. I’m so impressed and slightly jealous that you live somewhere that it snows . . . but I’m REALLY impressed that you walk through the snow on crutches! I hope you get clearance to walk . . .I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  16. I’m catching up on blogs, Christmas Christmas Tree. I’ve been so busy entertaining my out-of-town guest that I’ve barely had time to read anyone’s, much less update my own.

    Please feel flattered that I gave yours top priority. Mostly because you made me feel guilty on mine, but also just because.

Leave a Reply

