All is calm, all is bright

I’m going to take a little blog holiday for a few days.  I can feel the internet quieting down, and I’m joining in.  I’ll still be reading, but I have some non-bloggable stuff going on right now, and I’m just going to post that to The Anonymous Tannenbaum, aka my personal journal that only gets read by me.  It’s nice, yet disconcerting, to write things that don’t get comments.  In the meantime this is what’s going on…

My physical therapist is an awesome person who totally counteracts the meanness of the surgeon.  I think it’s because we have the same first name, so she’s looking out for one of her own.  Or it could just be that she’s a nice, smart person who is interested in both me and my ankle.  Either way, I’m not sure how to nickname her for the blog.  Should she also be Noelle?  Noelle (not me)?  PTNoelle?  Maybe I just don’t need to talk about her at all.  Time will tell.

I can walk with just one crutch now, which means I can carry things in my right hand, like coffee, tea, and soda.  (I’ve been pretty damn caffeinated lately.)

When I was home last night, I did some walking WITHOUT the crutch.  It was amazing and weird and scary.  I look pretty silly doing it.

All that walking made my foot, ankle and calf swell up to elephantine proportions.

This morning, I went swimming.  It’s the first time I’ve been since October.  It was fantastic, awesome, wonderful, refreshing, invigorating, life-altering, and nice.  Getting out of the pool was hard, emotionally and physically.

Tomorrow’s the last day for my mail-order Christmas presents to arrive.  There are still some outstanding items.  I hope they get here, otherwise everyone’s getting pictures of their presents, and that’s no fun.

Tonight, a friend is taking me to the mall to get some other last minute things.  It’s going to be a bit crowded, I fear.  Afterwards, we’re going to the bar where we go after kickball games.  I thought I was going to go there the night of the injury.  It turns out I’m 7 weeks late.  I don’t like it there very much, but I have to go just to remind myself that I don’t like it there very much.

I hope that you all have a very Merry Christmas, and if you don’t celebrate it, I hope you have a very Merry Tuesday, and enjoy your Chinese food.  I’m not sure when I’ll be back, either sometime next week, or tomorrow, if something funny and blogable should happen.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Glad your PT is awesome. Just as I’ve never met an orthopedist who wasn’t arrogant, I’ve never met a physical therapist who wasn’t nice.

  2. Nooooo…. don’t go! The internet is boring without you.

    Oh, fine. Have a good blog vacay. Maybe I’ll take one too, and then everyone will cry because our wit and amazing insights will be missing from their lives.

  3. I fear NPW is correct. We’ll miss you, but have a nice weekend and a merry Christmas. On second thought, skip the merry part; merry can be annoying. Have a thoughtful, relaxing Christmas, if that’s possible.

  4. Merry Christmas and happy blog vacation!! Hope you get lots of coffee and wine and minimal elephantine swelling on your break.

  5. Merry Christmas! Happy blogcation! Mine starts in a couple days. 🙂

  6. Happy blog holiday and happy everything else!

    Walking! Yes!! That’s awesome!

  7. You’ll be missed for sure!

    Have a Merry Merry Christmas to you!

  8. Happy holidays! Many blessings and much healing to you!

    PTNoelle sounds fun, stick with it if you have to refer to her as something.

  9. Posted by EvilKate on December 20, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    I’ll miss you and await your return.

  10. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas – sorry I’ve been awol – stupid internet exploding on me.

    Take it easy on your foot and be safe!

  11. Have a happy blog holiday; I’ll keep the internet running in your absence (seriously: I am a rock star).

    Also, your therapist should be referred to from here on out as Fake Christmas Tree. I have decreed it.

  12. have a very merry christmas!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. I was going to say that obviously Aaron’s the man to nickname the other Noelle, but I see he’s already on it (though personally, I’d prefer “Artificial Christmas Tree.” It’s more syllables, but also more fun, in my opinion, anyway…)

    I was also going to say don’t hurry back–not because I won’t miss you, but because I’m already several days behind on blog-reading–but I see you are already back! In any case, I hope the non-bloggable stuff is manageable and nothing too awful.

    I thought I was going to have to wrap pictures of people’s presents, too, but my email complaining to Amazon customer service worked, and all my stuff came on time. Yay! I hope yours does, too.

    Also, yay for getting back to swimming, and Merry Christmas!!

  14. Ah, crap, “Artificial Tree” does sound better. Thanks, Stef.

    Oh, and apparently I forgot: Have a very merry Christmas if I don’t talk you you, Christmas Tree!!

  15. Yes, it is definitely quieting down for me to as the endless xmas lists get checked off.
    Have a Merry X-Mas and a Wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

