Re: solutions

Despite some crap, 2007 was pretty good. But I think I came up with some ways for 2008 to be even better! Some bloggers to end of year posts, some do resolutions. Since most of what I write is stolen from others, I’m doing both! So in 2008 I will:

  • Write thank you notes and send them. Via actual mail.
  • Remove the prizes from their box and send them to the winners of NaCoPoMo. Via actual mail.
  • Get to my pre-gimp activity level and weight.
  • Compete in a swim meet.
  • Not gossip about people. If they are in the same room as me.
  • Write something other than the blog. Something where the subject isn’t “me.”
  • Clean my stove after I use it. Yeah, and do the dishes right away, too. ha.
  • Visit NYC more often. Refuse to be bridge and/or tunnel.
  • Save money by not blowing it on frivolous things like $25 tickets on the train to the city.
  • Never pay a late fee again.
  • Read more books, write down what they are so I can remember when I lend them to friends.
  • Wash my face every night.
  • Generally be less of a slob. (ed note: yeah, right.)
  • Not always have to eat everything on my plate. If I feel full, I will use my food containers and create leftovers.
  • Prove that volunteering isn’t just for the churchy folk.
  • Really get a handle on the lives of celebrities so I don’t have any more awkward moments where I can’t talk about Britney and Lindsey and Paris.

lola.jpgBonus! I have to make an amend to my best and worst of 2007. The thing that inspired that post in the first place was a discussion between me and my sister, where we realized that even though there was some crap in the past year, the addition of Lola the dog to our world made up for all of that.

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on January 3, 2008 at 8:11 am

    I love that you’ve resolved to really know about Britney Spears. It will make your blog far more satisfying, I’m sure.

    Ha!

    I’m tired of just having the basic facts. I want some hard core data.

  2. Posted by EvilKate on January 3, 2008 at 8:39 am

    cleaning provides an inordinate amount of personal satisfaction. somehow if you can organize and clean your stuff- doing the same with your life seems a little more manageable. well, that’s the theory I’m sticking with anyway!

    I just cleaned my desk at work. It feels so good!

  3. Perfectly reasonable goals, all. Good luck. I especially like the one about writing something that’s not about “me.” I’m stealing it.

    I hope you mean you’re stealing the idea and not the thing that I write.

  4. Adding a dog to the family will always always always brighten an entire year.

    P.S. Save the date 1/29 for Olivia’s Adoption Day. She has been with me for three years!

    consider the date saved.

  5. That cute puppy picture almost makes me want to get a puppy of my own. Almost.

    And thanks for reminding me that I need to do some more volunteering (even though I am churchy folk).

    The thing is that she stopped looking like that two minutes after the photo was taken. She’s still cute, though.

  6. I snorted a bit when I read the “if they’re in the same room” follow-up to “don’t gossip about people.” Hee.

    And if you need a source for your Lindsey/Britney/Paris info, I’m there for you. Sadly.

    If only I could retain useful information!

  7. Posted by gregorymeyer on January 3, 2008 at 10:36 am

    I’ve nearly lost the ability to use snail mail. It’s so damn foreign to me anymore. I do a lot of mailing for my volunteer efforts, but that’s a special case. Even Netflix is getting cumbersome. That, my friends, is a sad state of affairs. They even provide postage. I think one of the big issues is the lack of a flag on my mailbox…or that I have a mailbox outside of my dwelling. Then, there’s buying stamps. I’ve heard it can be done online. Ugh.

    Back to you. “If they are in the same room as me” gave me a big chuckle, too. Well played.

    While I might be described as churchy in some circles, I love me some volunteering. Enjoy it!

    I hate stamps.

  8. Posted by Jennifer M. on January 3, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I think waiting until the person leaves the room makes gossip more enjoyable for everyone!

    Having one or two office relationships that center almost entirely around celeb gossip, I’m also in the know on La Lohan, Brit Brit and Paris if you need a primer. I’ve also found that when I start feeling dirty about knowing all that stuff, I just take a deep breath and understand that I am merely recognizing that my life could be so much worse — or I’m just a meany wallowing in Schadenfreude.

    Yeah, I may have to go to work every day, but at least I can show up to my court dates as well!

  9. I’m trying to be more observant when I gossip, because a lot of times that person sneaks up behind me, and I don’t cover up the awkwardness too well with my: oh, ha, ha, Karen, you probably thought we were talking about you, but I was talking about my cousin Karen, who coincidently is also a physical therapist, and she had bad breath, but not you, so the coincidence ends there, ha ha ha….

    That’s funny.

  10. http://www.imnotobsessed.com — that will help with the celeb gossip. I got my start on their now defunct sister site, and Vera does an awesome job of keeping things nice, so you don’t feel dirty after reading celeb gossip.

    I made the same – stove/dishes/less of a slob type resolutions, and you’re “yea right” gave me a chuckle. I’ve managed to keep it going for 2 1/2 days now, but I’m nervous it won’t last much longer. Good luck to you!

    I revive the clean resolution once a month or so…

  11. How can you not be filled with hope if you can touch, pet, love, and snuggle with a puppy like that one?@?@!

    But, here’s to the best for you in the 2 – double oh – eight.

    Best to you too! I wish that damn dog lived closer!

  12. oh Lola is so cute!!
    I just going to use yr. resolutions especially the clean the stove- oven! and visit NY more – maybe we can meet there someday. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Why is it so difficult to clean the stove? Is the sponge THAT far away? (Well, it was when I was on crutches…)

  13. Posted by Michelle on January 3, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Cute puppy! I am insane about skin care… if you want face cleaning ideas, lemme know! I’m your girl!

    Well done Noelle! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes, because the soap I use made me a little rashy last night. I think I need something gentler.

  14. That part about sending out prizes to blog contest winners stirred something in my memory, but I can’t put my finger on what, exactly. Maybe I dreamt it.

  15. I almost forgot about NaCoPoMo! I want my prize, Christmas Tree!!

    Kidding. Take your time, dear.

    Also, I got exhausted and ashamed of myself just reading your list. Good luck with all those ambitious goals! The Britney/Lindsay/Paris one will be particularly hard (though rewarding), I’m sure.

  16. Posted by supersobe on January 4, 2008 at 9:22 am

    I went Birmingham on my basement on 1/1, it felt so good. I might actually go down there now and use the elliptical!

  17. Clean the stove right away?? Whew, you are a tougher woman than I am! I don’t think any amount of willpower could compel me to clean the stove and / or dishes immediately after using them.

Leave a Reply

