I would prefer writer’s block.

Ya’ll, I had a great weekend. It also didn’t hurt that I took Friday off from work and that I spent a great deal of time with friends and family in the city. By the time I was on the 4:51 out of Grand Central on Sunday, I felt like I’d been gone from home for weeks. So did the cat. Three days’ worth of dry food is no substitute for daily wet food, she has let me know with a non-stop barrage of crying.

But here’s the thing: there was so much to write about, I’m psyching myself out with how much happened. There’s the reunion I had with my city hairdresser, Max, who put my hair into a ponytail and Chopped. It. Off. (I love it, yet no quality pictures exist yet.) There’s the kick-ass birthday party at my favorite bar with tons of friends from all parts of my life. There’s the Saturday I spent in the city just doing city things like I used to. There’s the Saturday night I spent with my family, braving the New Jersey transit bus system. There’s the Most Amazing Birthday Present Ever from my mom. And, of course, an afternoon with Sister Alyson and Lola in Queens. (And a massively swollen ankle to show for all that walking.)

I have many words on all these subjects. But being a firm believer in brevity, I can’t in good conscience use them all. I think maybe what I’ll do is break them down into posts during the week, which works provided nothing happens this week. I can probably count on that, because now that the big day’s passed me by, I’m sure life will be completely uneventful from here on out… Except of course tomorrow morning when I wake up early to go to the gym for free bagel morning 20 minutes of cardio and a shower without spiders.  (You were right Aaron.  I should not have just assumed that the second Tuesday of the month could not possibly fall directly after the first Monday of the month.)

10 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! You turned thirty in a most excellent manner! Impressive! Can’t wait to read more about it! And congrats on the haircut! It sounds like a liberating change.

    It’s good to be rid of 10 inches of hair, I think.

  2. Posted by Jennifer M. on January 14, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    I love that you take the supremely reasonable and practical approach of scheduling your gym trips around free bagels and pizza. It is a very healthy attitude!

    I paid for 2 months of gym I didn’t use, so I plan on eating my way back!

  3. Glad to hear you had such a great bday, y’all! I’m sorry I couldn’t make it to your neck of the woods to party appropriately. 2008, though: year that we meet in person (and that you meet NPW, too, because otherwise I will never hear the end of it).

    Bad news though: Bagel day is the second Tuesday of the month, which was last Tuesday. Unless your franchise location does it up weird. Good luck with that.

    Promises, promises. Let’s make it happen!

  4. It’s true, I would personally put the smack down on Aaron if he got to meet you first. Like it’s not bad enough that Beej had the honor?

    Also, I love that Aaron can give you updates on the free bagel situation. Need we more proof that dude needs a new job?

    I really should have consulted him before setting my alarm clock.

  5. Sounds like a great celebration!

    If I were a member of your gym, I would probably just go there for the food. 🙂

    There should be food more often, I think.

  6. Posted by EvilKate on January 15, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Why can’t we schedule one outing where everyone meets? You could attend the FC summer olympics. We could make sure it is an ankle safe sport. Perhaps your attendance will entice Shelley to attend and not just talk trash about her mad skillz?
    😉 It’s a win win for all. We could meet somewhere in the middle….

    But then we have to wait until summer! That’s so long from now!

  7. All that walking?! That’s geat to hear, despite the swelling! Sounds like a killer weekend. Maybe 30 ain’t so bad.

    I’m not too worried about it. Only the slow metabolism part.

  8. Wait, there are BAGELS at your gym, too? I want to hear about your fabulous celebratory weekend in the City, too, but I need a post about the delicious food-related perks at your gym.

    If you look at the tag, “I’m not judging you” from my archives, you can read all about my revelations upon first joining Planet Fitness. There’s one in the city now, but you have to travel to Riverdale. The good thing is that it’s right next to the Target.

  9. Happy (belated) birthday! Glad the festivities were so fun.

    Thanks!

  10. Sounds like a fabulous weekend, and I MUST see pictures of the haircut!

    Also, I’ll put in another vote for the great blogger meetup of ’08. How do we make it happen, people??

Leave a Reply

