Roe v. Wade day

The other day when I mentioned I was going to revert to hard-hitting political analysis, I was kidding.  However, in the spirit of today’s 35th anniversary of Roe v. Wade, I’d like to participate in the “Why I vote Pro-Choice” memes.  However, time constraints are keeping me from writing something something of my own.  Instead, I’m going to link to Feministe, who feels the same way I do, but happens to say it better than I ever could.

Also, I’d like to take a minute to thank my landlesbian.  For all of the times I’ve used her as blog fodder (and rightfully so!) I do have to give her props for being on the forefront of the feminist movement back when the idea of equal rights for women was not a foregone conclusion.  She might have taken it a little farther than I would have, but sometimes you need some radicals to pull the center closer to the left.  Anyway, thanks, and please, please be wearing some clothes next time I deliver the rent check to you.

12 responses to this post.

  1. That last line made me laugh out loud in an empty room. Thank you.

    Good, I hate to be too serious.

  2. Wow, that’s some pretty powerful stuff on Feministe. Thanks for linking to it. And thanks for the reminder of what day it is. It’s an important one.

    I feel like all these issues: women’s rights, the environment, separation of church and state, they’re all connected, they’re all so important.

  3. Posted by sadieandleo on January 22, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Landlesbian… that is awesome.

    Nice job with this one and thanks for reminding us all about something that is wholly important to women’s lives.

    Again, I credit The Grey Boy for coining that phrase.

  4. Oh, Naked Landlesbian, answering the door like that. Hilarious.

    I am pro-choice really just because I can’t imagine telling a rape victim that she has to have the baby.

    It would take a woman of the most amazing and rare caliber to raise that baby.

  5. Posted by Michelle on January 22, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Roe v. Wade! Hooray!!

    I have been donating to Planned Parenthood every year on President’s Day in President Bush’s name. They send him a card and everything! 🙂 I’m sure he really appreciates it.

    Maybe I’ll send one today, in his name too.

    God Bless, America.

    that is too funny. I’ve never heard of doing that before. Perhaps I’ll donate to the Sierra Club in his name.

  6. Hooray for Roe v. Wade! I always tell pro-lifers that I vote pro-choice because, if they wanted to, they could convince every last person in America that abortion was immoral and make abortion obsolete without ever passing legislation.

    Banning abortion is just a short cut–those who’d like to outlaw it know they can’t succeed on the merits of their ideas alone.

    Brilliant. The thing that worries me is the chipping away of all other reproductive services as well. Many of these anti-abortion people are anti-women.

  7. I was going to write something sincere and heartfelt, but then I got completely thrown off by that last line (and like Mickey, laughed out loud to an empty room).

    I’m glad I made you laugh. I’d hate to get too serious, but I’d hate not to mention something that I feel completely passionate about.

  8. Someday I will meet your landlesbian. Some day! Hopefully she has clothes on.

    Whoa, nelly. I don’t know if she’s ready to meet people that I haven’t even met.

  9. “She might have taken it a little farther than I would have, but sometimes you need some radicals to pull the center closer to the left.”

    Well said, my friend.

    That’s the way I feel about PETA, too.

  10. Posted by supersobe on January 23, 2008 at 8:58 am

    I absolutely love Fij’s donation scheme. It’s brilliant.

    It really gets you thinking, no?

  11. I’m so glad I have always mailed my rent checks. For one instant I pictured my former landlord answering the door naked, and I threw up in my mouth a little. He used to ask me out occasionally (before I was actually his tenant), and I always figured if I absolutely couldn’t pay the rent for some reason, I could always take a bunch of drugs (to dull my senses) and sleep with him instead. Fortunately that never came to pass. So very, VERY fortunately.

    Oh, and amen to the rest of your post.

    Since we all share one mailbox, and she never checks it, I have to give it to her in person. So scary!

  12. Hee. I missed the comment about the donation scheme. Brilliant. 🙂

    Also, to tack on to my comment and your reply again–it’s also how I feel about Michael Moore.

Leave a Reply

