My mouth tastes like purple

I still don’t have cable, so my viewing habits are like this: I wait for a show to get popular and run at least a full season.  Then I rent it from Netflix.  I consume every last bit of episode.  If it is a still-running show, I befriend someone with TV to watch it at their home, or meet a guy on Craigslist who has made copies on DVD.  If I can stream it online, I’ll watch it on the computer, which I can now do with my pretty new macbook.  Then, I will commence to blog about the fact that Lost / Battlestar Galactica / Six Feet Under / House / Pushing Daisies / Big Love / The Office (British & American) is the best show in the whole wide world.  As of today, let me tell you that 30 Rock is the greatest show ever.  Of all of the above, it’s the only one that’s made me laugh out loud while sitting home alone.

The line last night that made me want to share my love for the show is the subject header.  It was a beautiful moment in comedy.  The camera is fuzzy, like the POV of a person who has just waking up in a strange new room after two hours of surgery and can’t see anything without her glasses which are being held by her mother in the waiting room.  Except in this scenario, it’s not me waking up, it’s Alec Baldwin.  And even better, it’s not really his POV as Tina Fey walks in the room, it’s actually a long shot.  The camera pans around to him waking up, and the first thing he said was “My mouth tastes like purple.”  I don’t know if it’s the trueness of that statement, or the delivery, or the fact that I finally forgave him for the mean message he left his daughter, or that I still had the giggles from watching the bird poop video earlier that day, but I laughed out loud.  For two straight minutes.

My other favorite moment of the show was when Kenneth the page took Tracey Jordan to church.  Not because the scene was funny, but because they entered through a Cuban restaurant called “Maragon.”  And the only reason that tickled my fancy was because Maragon is on 46th between 6th and 7th, and when I worked at the Drama Book Shop (before it moved to 40th) I ate at Maragon at least once a week.  The place was a complete dive, and always completely packed, and you could get rice and beans with a side of plantains and a can of soda for $5.00 (it was 1999).   And damn if it wasn’t the best rice and beans in the whole wide world.  Now that I have confirmation via television that they are still there, I need to go now.  I don’t even care that the rice and beans are most certainly made in some non-vegetarian kind of way.

Speaking of Kenneth the page, when I watch the show, sometimes I think that if I had the wide-eyed optimism he has, maybe I could have made it in show biz.  Like the time I was a PA on a reality show, and the producer asked me to take the production van to the paint store and to pick up 20 gallons of paint and drop them off in her Upper East Side apartment.  I should have been flattered that she thought to ask me to do it because she knew I lived uptown, and done it without hesitation.  NEVERMIND that I lived on the upper WEST side, and NEVERMIND that I was just about to leave for the day, and NEVERMIND that there was no way I was going to be able to find parking for the van in my neighborhood anyway, and NEVERMIND that even if I did, I’d have to return the van by 6am, two hours before my call time, and NEVERMIND that she thought my name was “Karlene,” I should have willingly accepted the job instead of complaining to my boss.  But that was always the struggle: if you do the crazy task asked of you by the producer, maybe you get ahead.  Or maybe you get known as the person who’ll do anything and has no self respect.  Yeah, I’m not going back to that job.

But on the other hand, I’ve been watching episodes of “The Office” where the independently owned paper company is trying to compete against national chains with low prices using only the power of customer service and personal touches.  Like 30 Rock, it’s funny because it’s true.  That’s kind of my life now, and it’s too true, sometimes.

Oh, and thanks for the comments yesterday.  I love a hearty discussion.  I don’t mention it a lot, but there still is a pretty gaping Birmingham-shaped hole in my heart, and every little bit of comment love is like an extra bit of muscle, tissue or cell putting it back together.

21 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve never seen 30 Rock. Maybe I should watch it…Although, after reading that post, I feel as though I watch it already.

    Comments are filling a hole in your heart? That’s such a sweet thing to say. While I truly believe it is a completely sincere thing that you are saying, please forgive the fact that I can’t resist saying “Man! You’ll say ANYTHING to boost the number of comments you get!”

    Sorry. 🙂

    You totally got me. I’ll say anything to get comments.

  2. Posted by JC on January 31, 2008 at 9:48 am

    A show you should consider adding to your list is “Flight of the Conchords”. I discovered it recently, and have been obsessively watching episodes over and over. With each viewing, I find jokes that I missed.

    Regarding the wide-eyed optimism to climb the showbiz ladder: that is very true in the corporate world, too. Shenanigans like delivering the paint turn my stomach, which means the “made guys” don’t care much for my company. I’m not a team-player, I guess. If only I played golf, my life would be on a completely different trajectory. Instead, I’ll mind the shop during the department golf outings. I’m still trying to figure out how I’m going to make this work.

    I’m glad you’re working for the little guys in the book world. I think it’s important.

    I’m not familiar with that show. I’ll see if I can Netflix it later…

  3. 30 Rock is my favorite show now too! I love Kenneth. And Tina Fey. And Alec Baldwin. And the two guys who are in Tracy’s entourage. Sigh.

    I still get annoyed by trucker hat guy, but I am willing to deal with it because I love 30 Rock so much.

    Trucker Hat Guy is the weak link, but still so much better than anything on other shows.

  4. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on January 31, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I hate to disagree with you, but there is no way 30 Rock is better than Battlestar. It may be amusing, but it also does not compete with either It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia or Arrested Development.

    I will accept that it is your current favorite, but greatest show ever? Never!

    Trust me, once Battlestar starts up again, it will be the best show ever. Also, I totally forgot that I also love A.D. I’m so fickle.

  5. We just got caught up on Big Love. After the last episode, however, Courtney informed me of this fact and then told me that we would have to wait about a year for the next season, which has yet to air, to come out on DVD.

    HBO sure puts out some good product, but don’t they know how quickly I lose interest if they don’t keep me hooked?!

    30 Rock is a damn funny show. I never really thought about what it must be like for someone who has lived in NYC to watch TV/movies, so many of which are filmed there. Does the novelty of recognizing places you’ve been wear off?

    There is too damn long a wait for HBO shows. And no, the novelty never wears off. It’s even further exaggerated if it’s a location I’ve used before.

  6. Posted by EvilKate on January 31, 2008 at 10:53 am

    HBO hooked me on John from Cincinnati and then didn’t bring it back. I watched, waiting for something good to happen, and then…the end. No more. I’m angry with HBO right now, it’s on a time out.

    Though…Curb your Enthusiasm…? Funny stuff.

    I tried Curb your Enthusiasm, but didn’t like it. It’s just a little bit too awkward for me.

  7. Aww. I think I speak for everyone when I say we’re glad to help repair your heart with comment love.

    I think you and I have almost identical taste in TV. I love all the shows you mentioned, except I’ve never seen Battlestar Galactica. And I am so pumped for the Lost premiere tonight!

    Directly after Lost is finished, go rent Battlestar Galactica, start with the miniseries. You have until late March to catch up. You will not regret it.

  8. I’ve never seen Six Feet Under. I’ll have to rent it. I just got Season 2 of Big Love in the mail, and I’m all excited.

    I’m with you on 30 Rock — it is laugh out loud by yourself funny, and I have such a girl-crush on Tina Fey.

    Like JC said, I’m not a team player either. My past jobs have involved a lot of expected ass kissing or metaphorical nose wiping and I just don’t have the patience for that. Part of me wishes I did and part of me is completely disgusted with the part of me that wishes I did.

    I’m sorry your heart is feeling a little holey right now. I went through something very similar. Ice cream really does help.

    I wish I had ice cream last night. I really wanted it.

  9. I enjoy 30 Rock and the Office every time I watch them, but for some reason I’ve never put them on my “must watch” list. I don’t know why.

    The only show I developed mucho love for this year was “Pushing Daisies.” I wish they would show reruns. My local affiliate preempted one episode and I NEED TO SEE IT. Especially since my BFF made sure to say “Oh, you missed that one? It was EXQUISITE.” Damn it.

    If you have access, you can watch all the Pushing Daisies episodes on abc.com.

  10. Posted by Jess on January 31, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Flight of the Conchords – yep, totally Netflixable. But even better than that is Extras (from Ricky Gervais – The Office). It makes me laugh out loud all by my lonesome at some point in every episode.

    And as for the comments – there are 2 blogs that I lurk on all the time…yours and my little brother’s. It’s strange to me to comment because I feel like I know you better now through your writing than I did when I saw you on a daily basis. Call me old-fashioned, but I just feel weird about that. And a little sad that I didn’t put forth more effort back in the day, you know?

    I love Extras. The Man of Action got me a copy of it. It is weird that you know what’s going on over here, and I don’t know what’s going on over there. It’s made me even worse at keeping in touch personally.

  11. Here’s some comment love for you. And I love, love, love 30 Rock, I think it’s the funniest show on TV right now.

    When you’re done with that you should netflix The Wire. It’s my newest obsession.

    Oh, I’ve heard good things about The Wire. I’ll have to add that.

  12. I really got into Weeds for a while but I really hate that I have to wait a full year for the next season to come out. I prefer my gratification instant.

    I’m waiting for that one to play out completely, then I’ll look into it.

  13. Posted by The Grey Boy on January 31, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Dude Girl beat me to the Extras recommendation!

    I hear Rome is good.

    If you like togas.

    I do.

    I hear Deadwood is good.

    If you like cowboys.

    I do.

    Oh Grey Boy, you make me laugh out loud.

  14. Posted by The Grey Boy on January 31, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Oh, and I forgot Carnivale, which features your own down-on-his luck Sick Ntahl.

    Only 2 seasons, and really great if you like circuses.

    Which I do.

    And if you like Sick Ntahl.

    Which, big surprise, I do.

    Maybe, just because Sick is such a nice guy.

  15. LOVE LOVE The Office. If I’m blue, I won’t be when I’m done watching it.
    My evil alter ego watches to catch ways in which to torment co-workers.
    Their perfect protrayal of individuals makes me cringe in remembrance of cubicles past.

    Great stuff.

    I don’t comment a lot…but I do read.

    I wish the torment of my office workers worked that well. And that I was Pam and met my Jim. I’m glad you’re still around!

  16. I am proud of you for trying to repair your heart’s hole. I’m impressed that your attempts are so soon after the hole was built. I waited far too long to try to fill mine. I got-sta get out there and try harder.

    FWIW – I’m all about the Office. Deadwood is awesome. I kept HBO just to watch it. It took me a couple episodes to adjust. Great characters though. Carnivale creeped me out though. I do chuckle a lot at 30 Rock whenever I get to watch. Just sayin.

    To be honest, you blog readers were the last to know… But yeah, it still is kind of fresh. I just didn’t want to get into a rut of staying at home and drinking wine and watching TV. Which really is so much better than dating.

  17. I love the title of this post 🙂 It made me giggle because it reminds me of Ralph on the Simpsons.

    I LOVE Pushing Daisies. I’m so made that the season was interrupted because of the strike though 😦

    It was such a Ralph line! I don’t think Pushing Daisies has much of a life now that its lost momentum. Sadly.

  18. I agree, 30 is the funniest show on TV, however, NPW is right, nothing will ever be funnier than Arrested Development.

    Back to 30 Rock: The Tracy Morgan Meat Machine is the greatest thing ever.

    Also: Six Feet Under is the best show ever. I drove an hour to watch it during the third season. It was the reason I had cable for the last two seasons. Once it was over: no more cable.

  19. I love the instant gratification of being able to watch full seasons of a show at my comment, instead of having to wait week by week (or–gasp! All summer) for new episodes. I hate it when I catch up to where the show’s left off and I have to wait like the regular people. I’m in that spot with “Weeds” now, which is an excellent show you should also watch. Just be aware that you’ll be waiting and waiting and waiting for season 3. 😦

    And oh, that last part was the sweetest and the saddest thing I’ve heard all week. Chin up, my friend. Bask in your comment love.

  20. Also, I have to agree with freeandflawed. Before I realized it was a 30 Rock reference, I thought it was a Ralph Wiggum line! (I know; he said “My tongue tastes like burning.” But he could have said his mouth tastes like purple, too.)

  21. 30 Rock usually gives me the hiccups, it is so funny! Lots of inside-New York humor and lots of general workplace humor which is always so right on.

    That Tina Fey. She is a funny lady!

Leave a Reply

