I use you all for love, I may as well use you for information as well.

Does anyone know a good way to file taxes online for free? I’ve gone through the process twice now only to be hit with a fee at the end. If you have a testimonial, I’d love to hear it

PS – I have totally easy taxes this year, so I don’t need to do anything fancy.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jon on February 1, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I used turbotax basic for free online. My taxes were simple being that I didn’t itemize but I got my refund in a week!

    The quick refund thing would be nice.

  2. Posted by Candy on February 1, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Well, it doesn’t cost anything to actually do the taxes on the computer, but if you want to electronically file I think there’s always a fee. I just have Turbotax deduct it out of my refund.

    So by “free” they mean “to a point.”

  3. Posted by Jennifer M. on February 1, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Um. I know this might be heresy and all in the electronic age, and it takes longer to process and get a refund, but you could mail them in for the cost of postage. . .

    However, there are in fact other options! I don’t know how much you make, but if you make less than a certain amount you can file for free (federal, not sure about state) through this link from the IRS website:

    http://www.irs.gov/efile/article/0,,id=118986,00.html

    that was the site I was using, and it directs you to a bunch of other sites, and they all have fees. The thing that made me post this is that I was going to give up and mail it the old fashioned way, but the site froze and wouldn’t download the tax form into the PDF I was promised. I don’t want to have to add all my data to another site without a recommendation from someone.

  4. Posted by Jennifer M. on February 1, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    A government website that was unclear and did not tell the whole truth and nothing but the truth?!? Perish the thought.

    Sorry it wasn’t more helpful, I’ve never actually done my own taxes . . .

    Yeah, I know. Crazy, right? I’ve paid for an accountant the past few years, but I thought that I might save the dough this year.

  5. http://www.irs.gov/app/freeFile/jsp/index.jsp?ck

    This leads you to companies where it says you can file federal absolutely free, but state incurs a fee.

    Really, if it’s that easy, why not do it on paper? šŸ˜‰

    Oh 3carn, it’s that I’m so ingrained into this internet life now. But pencil and paper does appeal to my traditional side. Also, I do have a bad habit of not adding correctly…

  6. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on February 1, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I used TaxACT but they charged me like $13.95. Better than H&R Block’s $25, though.

  7. I have to get on the ball with taxes, I’m impressed that you’re already filing!

  8. Have a dad who is an accountant. Scan your W2s and other documents and email them to him. Then pester dad until he does them.

    Hey, it works for me!

    I have lots of friends who use the free online filing through the IRS (e-File?) or the limited free version of Turbo Tax. I think that’s pretty slick if your taxes aren’t too complicated.

  9. Posted by mfijal98 on February 3, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    I (meaning my dad did this for me…)used TaxAct too, but didn’t have to pay a cent! They have lots of little commericals for “imporving” your taxes and crap, but my dad just kept clicking “NO!”. BOO YEAH!

    PS: Mail- SENT!! šŸ˜‰

  10. I’ve never been good at taxes, but the public library in my city has experts who donate time to help others file taxes – maybe there’s a similar program in your city . . .

  11. Posted by SisterAlyson on February 4, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I use freetaxusa.com. To file federal taxes is free and state tax is $9.95. My co-workers showed it to me and now it’ll be my 3rd year using it. So easy.

  12. if you do a 1040EZ, filing over the phone is free and easy. if you use a 1040A or 1040, I don’t think there’s a totally free way.

  13. I kept digging through the options at the irs website until I found one who would do both my federal and state for free. I slipped right under the wire on the income limit, though.

Leave a Reply

