No one is going home until we find Blogroll!

I just finished the new blogroll. I did it while watching “The Bourne Supremacy” which means I did neither very well. I really apologize if I six word described your blog as “likes cats, has amnesia, cute nose.” But anyway, please take a look. You’ll notice that bloggers who shared their own description got top billing, and everyone else suffered the fate of the best thing I could think of. If you think you can do better, I’m happy to take suggestions. Also, let me know if I doubled up or left you off. It’s only because I was distracted. Probably.

So while I’m at it and since I’m going to be off in Rhode Island all day Wednesday, I’d like to ask you a favor. I’m always looking for new blogs to look at, do you all know of any that aren’t on this list that you recommend? I technically could just go to all your blogs and visit everything on your rolls, but that’s just a little stalker-y and hit or miss, not to mention time consuming. So any good picks? Or generally fun blogs you like? Give me something to look forward to when I get home!

Also, don’t let me forget to tell all you non-film folks the story of Radio Man. I totally spotted him in the last scene of the movie. Also, also, I watched some of the DVD extras while writing this and I’m pissed that I was so distracted by the blogroll that I didn’t notice that the Russian assassin was played by the same actor who was Eomer in LOTR. Now I have to watch the movie again, and take notes.

Mom, it’s okay if you didn’t understand that last paragraph. I know you skim over the pop culture references. I hope you and Dad had a very happy anniversary! Thirty Six years!

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by elizabeth on February 19, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Thanks for the good wishes.

    We just saw Definitely, Maybe, which I was really enjoying until the guy tells the girl he’s dating “You should really be doing something more with your life than working in a book store.” (I work in a book store.)

    BLOGGERS…..I am calling for a boycott on this movie!!!

    PS..Yeah, you’re right, I didn’t get the pop culture reference.

  2. I totally won’t see Definitely, Maybe now.

    I really like this blog — http://sixoneseven.blogspot.com/

    She hasn’t been updating as much, but she knits things I could never even attempt, bakes stuff I don’t have the patience for, and takes beautiful pictures.

    Otherwise, a lot of the blogs I read I found from your blog roll. . .

  3. Posted by Man Of Action on February 19, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Here are a few I like.

    Seth’s Blog. Try to make sense out of this Web 2.0 thing.
    http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/

    Get Rich Slowly – stop being broke all the time.
    http://getrichslowly.org/blog/

    Ana Marie Cox’s twitter feed is always fun. She wrote the book on snark. And assfucking.
    http://twitter.com/anamariecox

    What I Killed Today is somewhat sobering.
    http://whatikilledtoday.blogspot.com/

    Lawrence Lessig – a great American thinker and Stanford Law professor, recently switched his focus from copyright and intellectual property to corruption. You are not ready.
    http://lessig.org/blog/

  4. Two of my favs: http://simplywait.blogspot.com/ wonderful writing and
    http://liquidilluzion.blogspot.com/
    great photos and tells it like it is.

  5. Dude, really? I’m in the second string? I know I didn’t provide you a description, but yours was succinct. I will never hear the end of it now that NPW is in bold and I am not.

  6. Heh, I may be in bold but my tagline looks pretty dopey. I know I wrote it myself but I am going to have to come up with something better.

    Happy anniversary to Noelle’s Mom- my parents are just one year behind you. πŸ™‚

  7. I really enjoy Zombie Fights Shark primarily because he documents the tasting of weird Chinese food. Very funny.

  8. Happy anniversary, Noelle’s parents!

    I didn’t get the last paragraph either. I don’t remember much about Lord of the Rings (that’s LOTR, right?), and Radioman? i am confused. But I am ok with that!

  9. I actually feel kind of cheated. I gave you my best six words, but maybe it would have been better if you had just done them all. Now I’m wondering what your take would have been.

    Don’t forget to tell us about Radio Man.

  10. As for a blog to recommend, I would say you should check out thebloggess.com.

  11. Posted by Jennifer M. on February 20, 2008 at 10:42 am

    I’ve always been a fan of http://www.tomatonation.com. Sars is a founder of Television Without Pity and she always makes me laugh out loud.

    Lots of movie reviews, random rants and product crushes. On Fridays she features “Ask the Readers” where people write in asking for help with anything from finding an obscure story they remember from 1st grade or stain removal tips. Her archives are filled with awesome posts, like the one about the time her cats met the Roomba. And the “Girls Bike Club” series of posts is awesome.

    Plus my most favorite thing that she has done is introduce me to DonorsChoose.org, my new favorite charity. In October she got her readers to donate over $100,000 in 31 days.

  12. Woo! I am honored to be on the list – let alone be called “interesting”! πŸ™‚ You would be on mine, too, if I could figure out where my blogroll went, that is.

    I’m in the process of at least posting my blogroll as a regular blog entry, which I will finish sometime in the next decade. Stay tuned! πŸ™‚

  13. I’m quite impressed with the Blogroll, and I just love the description for my blog!
    Congratulations to your parents – that’s quite an accomplishment!
    And I can’t wait to hear about the Radioman . . .

  14. Hey–

    I’d love to take you up on your offer. If you’d like, we can do the interview all officially. Or, if you’d prefer, you can just type up a couple of paragraphs on your feelings about the subject. Since you just came through the other side of your 20s, I think it would be a great perspective.

    Thanks!

  15. Fun!!!!! Thank you so much πŸ™‚

    I like this blog: http://freeandflawed.com/ “you are flawed if you are not free”

    I just had a total random thought – remember the bookstore on Ellen’s sitcom? That was neat. I like bookstores. My uncle owns a few bookstores in southern NH. I love bookstores. And Ellen. And big open spaces with round register areas in the middle.

  16. Where’s the blogroll??? I don’t see it.

  17. I do, however, see the eclipsed moon. Hella!

  18. Got it. It’s a tab. My bad.

  19. Posted by sadieandleo on February 21, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Awww, thank you, I like mine, it’s perfect.

  20. Posted by Sarah on February 21, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    It’s not a blog exactly, but have you ever looked at Dinocomics? It’s the exact same dinosaur comic strip every day with different text. Same dinosaurs, different conversations. Hi-LARious!

    Here:
    http://rsspect.com/rss/qwantz.xml

  21. Posted by Sarah on February 21, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Oops, sorry– try this link instead for Dinocomics:

    http://www.qwantz.com

  22. You are looking for MORE blogs? I already feel bad because there are some who read me who I haven’t found the time to check out. (67 feeds in my feed reader is too much! Stop the madness! But wait—no! More!!) Clearly I’m torn about this addiction of mine.

    I love your tag line for Dooce. I haven’t linked to her. Does that mean I’m disqualified in some way?

  23. Posted by GreenHemlockGirl on February 25, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Did you see this New Yorker article: http://www.newyorker.com/talk/2008/02/25/080225ta_talk_widdicombe

    I thought of your blogroll project when I read it.

  24. Oh! Oh! Mine!

    Look at my blog!

    I mean, you know, if you want to or whatever.

    Clicky.

Leave a Reply

