Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

It feels a little silly to say that I’m proud of being a quarter Irish, because on one hand, it’s not like I had any say in that, and on the other, the Irish side of my family were Protestants, and they came here a really long time ago. But still, I like to celebrate St. Patrick’s day because green is my favorite color, and I have always liked to kiss Irish boys. Scottish ones, too, and Welsh and Australian for that matter. Basically, if your people have been colonized by the British, I am interested. (That pretty much narrows it down to, oh, everyone.) And really, that attraction comes down to a matter of accents. I love the accents so much, it trumps all other physical attributes. That’s probably the only reason I hooked up with my ugly flatmate when I was living in England. Also, there was an entire bottle of red wine involved. But that’s another story for another day.

When I first met Birmingham, I was attracted to him for reasons other than his ancestry. But after a few dates, when I learned that both his parents were from Ireland, I think that’s when I dug in my claws and decided to keep him around for a while. So imagine my disappointment when I learned that he can’t do the accent AT ALL. He spent his formative years living with people who pronounced everything with a lovely Gaelic lilt, and the most he can do is say “ting” instead of “thing,” and even that sounds pretty darn Standard American. Thankfully, his mom and I got along well and when I went over to visit, we’d have tea and I could enjoy listening to her speak. So my next boyfriend, he’s going to be off the boat. Maybe I’ll start a service where I pick up immigrants from the airport and scout out their dating potential as I drive them to their destination.

But lest I diss Birmingham too much for his inability to mimic his parents or his people and his inability to Fucking Propose Already, I do have to thank him for introducing me to one awesome authentic Irish band, and that’s The Young Dubliners, who we have seen live a bunch of times. I always threatened to leave him for one of them, and now that I’m officially single, maybe I’ll have to get myself to the west coast (they’re based in California) to see if they’ll have me and talk to me all night long. In honor of the holiday and all things Irish, break out the soda bread, and enjoy this video (if you’re in a place where you can enjoy video…) Just a warning that this is from an early morning show, and it’s mostly tolerable if you ignore any part that isn’t the band playing, including the insane cheerleaders doing splits at the end.

29 responses to this post.

  1. I am totally going to have to crank this up when my boss goes to lunch.

    Other people, always in the office keeping one from watching videos…

  2. After “ting” I read the rest of this post in my best Irish accent. In my head of course.

    I would love to have someone do a dramatic reading of the Daily T, but not today…

  3. My mother in law is sooo into her Irish heritage. What’s so strange about that? She’s not Irish. She married Irish.

    Green’s my favorite color, too. 🙂

    It’s like my old boss who got down with Judaism after her husband died.

  4. Posted by Jennifer M. on March 17, 2008 at 9:14 am

    I’ve always wanted to marry an Irish man so that if we had sons we could give them awesome names like Declan (even though that is the English spelling) and Seamus.

    My sister once thought of trying to get a job in Ireland just to meet guys with accents.

    Birmingham’s sister just named her baby Niemh. It’s pronounced “nee-ve.” That’s not going to be easy.

  5. Declan and Seamus are awesome names.

    Great band!

    I miss Irish soda bread. . . with raisins. I don’t think there’s a good wheat-free version.

    Happy St. Pat’s!

    I almost bought a soda bread at the store, milk content be dammed. But then I changed my mind.

  6. Posted by lizgwiz on March 17, 2008 at 9:50 am

    And a Happy St. Patty’s to you, as well.

    I always enjoyed drinking green-colored beer. Only my friends and I could never stop with just green, and we’d whip out the food coloring and see just how festive we could get. Teal beer is nice. Blue. We never really perfected purple, though.

    My mom used to give me green milk on St. Pat’s. I think I would have liked blue, too.

  7. this post made me laugh! if your people have been colonized by the british, i’m interested….

    did you hear the duo from “once” accepting the oscar a few weeks back, for best song? he leaped on stage and yelled, ‘TANKS!’ in his best dublin accent.

    we’ve seen the young dubliners at the st. paul irish fair a couple of times. they’re fun.

    I think it’s the “Once” folks who had me further convinced that I need to date Irish.

  8. I’m single, too… Can I get in on this immigrant dating service of yours? I’d also be up for a road trip to stalk the Young Dubliners with you. I like kissing Irish boys too. 🙂

    It’s a deal!

  9. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on March 17, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Do you think it would be fair to ask Chris to adopt an Irish brogue this late into the dating game? No?

    Oh well, I’ll have to live vicariously through your accented soon-to-be boyfriend.

    How will you ever know if you don’t ask?

  10. this post was in green. you’re a creative woman.

    Thank you for noticing.

  11. I think you have a good solid business plan/dating service for yourself there.

    I am also a quarter Protestant Irish, but my Irish grandfather converted to Catholicism to marry my French Canadian grandmother, so it is all very confusing.

    Oh yeah, don’t get me started on the conversions in my family history. It gets so messy.

  12. Posted by Peter on March 17, 2008 at 11:03 am

    That band is great. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

    I’m glad you enjoyed, they’re my favorites!

  13. Accents totally throw off the hotness scale. Any guy with a good accent bumps him up at least two points, if you ask me. Even the ugly ones take on a charming quality. Makes me all discombobulated.

    It’s true, just close your eyes and enjoy the ride.

  14. Yay! Irish! Accents! Yay!

    I forgot to wear green today. Boo.

    I hope you didn’t get pinched…

  15. Posted by Sarah on March 17, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    I’ll be honest– I don’t really understand how an accent can make someone seem more sexually attractive. Maybe I’m just jelous because no one has ever said to me “Ooo, I love your Chicago accent. Let’s make out!”

    I’m not the least bit Irish, but I plan to enjoy a nice slice of Irish soda bread tonight.

    I’m pretty much Standard American, and no one has ever commented on my speech.

  16. My old Army buddy Sikora’s Irish accent would make it self very pronounced once we would start drinking. Tis a fione ting to listen to. He was also kind enough to invite me over to Ireland with him for a visit. I be raising a pint up to him tonight, wherever he might be.

    I would love to go to Ireland someday. Perhaps I could fall into speaking like them.

  17. A quarter Irish, not too shabby!

    Are you quoting Adam Sandler?

  18. I too am 1/4 Irish! Well, 1/4 of Irish descent. My father’s family is from the County Mayo!

    Happy St. Paddy’s day!

    I think that Birmingham’s family hails from County Mayo as well!

  19. If you love Irish heritage, you’ll love (or should love) this:

    http://www.devilducky.com/media/27483/

    Happy green day too! I had a hard time narrowing down what green to wear today, since most of my wardrobe is green.

    That was indeed an enjoyable clip.

  20. thank you for putting the young dubliners on the site,as a peson who has irish and welsh blood in my veins I thank you for this.Oh yeh I have to add the Polish and German side as well.Iriah/german from Mom’s side Polish and welsh from Dad’s side.

    The great thing is that you don’t have to be Irish to enjoy the Young Dubs.

  21. I agree on the accent thing; it was once a fixation of mine, but I’ve since learned that they aren’t everything.

    That said, I may ask Mara how her English accent is.

    It’s one thing to fake it, but if you can find the real thing… It’s like magic.

  22. Ha, I thought of that same “airport” plan during each of my single phases. yeeeears ago I actually dated an irish fella who lived in dublin – alas that was probably the most expensive relationship i’ve ever been in. i’ll settled for my current love who has at least lived/i> in Great Britain for a short amount of time… and does a pretty good accent.

    Oh man, I spent a lot of money visiting my bf who lived 45 minutes away, I can only imagine.

  23. If you have any tolerance for the show The Bachelor, I strongly recommend you give it a try (Monday nights, ABC). Last night was the first episode with the new BRITISH bachelor. Complete with British accent. Now there’s a reason to watch besides waiting for the crazy beotches to start pulling out each others’ hair. Did I mention he has a British accent? Oh, and he’s hawt.

  24. Ah the memories of dating one of the emerald isle…it really doesn’t matter what they say, does it – as long as they’re still talking?

  25. Just don’t find an Irish immigrant and marry him so he can get his green card, okay?

    (Though, with the Irish economy booming and the American economy sinking, maybe you’re better off moving there and getting an Irish lad to marry YOU!)

  26. Hubby loves Irish music and I may go find this tomorrow for his birthday! Thanks for the video clip. And all I can say about the cheerleaders is I can do that….once.

    Jennifer

  27. I just love the idea of your immigrant dating service – count me in for sure!

  28. Ooh! I love me some accents, too. Remind me to tell you about one of my more romantic evenings ever, which involved an Irish boy named John O’Leary. Sigh.

  29. […] want to know more about the band including a video, I’ll give you the link to my post from last St. Patrick’s Day.  You’ll also notice that back then I had quite a different take on singledom than I did […]

Leave a Reply

