For the peeps

I’m going to say it: I’ve never liked Peeps.  There’s so much goodness when it comes to Easter candies, including Cadbury eggs, crispy chocolate eggs and bunnies where you eat off the ears first.  But Peeps were never part of my spring gorge repertoire.  I’d always let my sister have the Peeps if they came our way.  Even as a kid the fake colored sugar and second rate marshmallows did not impress me.  But these days, it seems like everywhere you look, someone is taking those second rate candies and posing them in ridiculous ways.  It’s like the word is admitting that the value in Peeps comes with their inherent anthropomorphic cuteness, not their taste.  This morning, I saw a website of popular movies acted out by Peeps.  I hope you enjoy.

Unrelated, this is the first morning in a while that I haven’t gone swimming.   The pool is closed because of Good Friday.  And the truth is I’m glad.  Not because I’m tired of getting up at the ass crack of dawn, or because I’m tired of being wet, but because of Wii.  Last night I went to Flick and Tucker’s for our usual Thursday Lost party only to find that they had obtained themselves a Wii, the game I’ve heard so much about.  After bowling better virtually than I ever have in real life, and playing tennis with abandon, Flick and I boxed.  And damn if I didn’t throw out my left elbow while trying to give her an upper-cut.  (And she knocked me out anyway!)  After that, we put on some Super Mario Brothers, original flavor, and my left thumb now has that numbly tingling that I haven’t felt since the late 80’s.  Even if I wanted and could go swimming this morning, I’d have to not do it, because I need some Wii recovery time.  I’m glad I know what all the fuss is about, I just have to remember to be careful next Thursday, because I suspect that injury via Wii would be a poor reason to miss my swim meet.  Especially after I missed the last one due to injury via kickball.

If you have off work today, I hope you are enjoying yourself, and please keep it to yourself.  I’m off to the office now.  Have a great weekend!

24 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, you have to be careful with boxing. It hurts, and that’s why I almost never do it. I haven’t given my arm a chance to recover since I got my Wii, and so it’s permanently sore now. I’ve come to terms with it.

  2. I, too, am not a Peeps person… There was one year (I may have been drunk) I, along with 2 others, devoured a whole box… But the way I felt afterwards convinced me that never again!

  3. Ugh. Peeps are the worst. At the risk of stealing Aaron’s comment, the funniest thing he ever told me was about this woman he knew that had like four rotting teeth left and he was like, “What? Does she sleep with Peeps stuck in her teeth at night?”

    HA!

  4. Oh, also: I challenge you to Wii tennis. No boxing, it makes my shoulders hurt.

  5. I used to love Peeps. I was all about putting them in the microwave, but I just don’t have a sweet tooth like that anymore.

    Hope you recover soon.

  6. Yeah, I don’t do sugar like I used to, and that includes peeps.

    I’m so glad that even you, keeper of the Christmas tree farm, are subject to the evil pull of the Wii to the point of having a Wii-centric post. Definitely stay away from the Wii for a few days before your meet.

  7. I never enjoyed peeps either.

    Boxing on the Wii kills me. I am soooo sore after a couple of rounds!

  8. Posted by lizgwiz on March 21, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Add me to the “no love for Peeps” tally. They’re cute, but I don’t require cuteness in a candy. (In a puppy, sure…but not in a candy. Ooh…a puppy Peep–wouldn’t that be adorable?)

  9. peeps are proof that man kind will not last forever, because people will eat whatever is put in front of them.

  10. Down with peeps!

    I, too, wish that Wii bowling skillz translated into real-life bowling skillz. Alas, that is not the case.

  11. Wii is a serious addiction. The Prof and I played it for the first time at a friend’s house until 3 in the morning! Despite sucking in real life at pool and bowling, I beat him in both games AND I knocked him out three times in a row. Hurray for Tae Bo!

    Peeps taste nasty but they sure make for funny skits.

  12. I don’t like Peeps either and I never have. Judging by the rest of the comments so far, we are not alone. With Easter being so dang early, though, I almost forgot about Cadbury Creme and Mini Eggs, though! I can’t decide if this is a good thing (I still have Girl Scout cookies tempting me after all; do I need more bad-for-me stuff around?) or if it means I need to add a few items to my Target shopping list this weekend.

    Also, I must experience this Wii thing that everyone keeps talking about. I feel entirely left out.

  13. Ugh…peeps. My teeth hurt and my stomach cramps just thinking about them. Last year a friend made me go on a giant Peep hunt post-Easter to try to find them on sale. You know…because Peeps are SO EXPENSIVE!

    We’re not friends anymore.

  14. Posted by Sarah on March 21, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    You haven’t felt that tingly thumb sensation since the late eighties? I feel sorry for you…

  15. You need Wiihabilitation.

    Seriously, where did they obain their Wii? I’ve been looking all over for one.

  16. I saw “I don’t like Peeps…” and I couldn’t read further! I love Peeps! Year-round Peepage at my house.

  17. If you microwave peeps, they die: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkBwIAVecgQ

  18. honey, for god’s sake, peeps aren’t for eating!!!

    Peeps

  19. I like to think of myself as one who has good taste, but if truth be known, I love a good peep. . .

  20. I love my mother, but her affection for week-old, extremely stale Peeps has always dismayed me. Cadbury Creme Eggs, though…now those should be available year-round!

  21. Eww to Peeps. And Eww to NPW for stealing my comment.

    I am so buying a year’s supply of Cadbury eggs when they go half off tomorrow.

  22. I don’t know anyone that likes Peeps.

    An open package of them would get hard as rocks two or three days after Easter.

    Wii is a serious addiction. I love me some drunken Wii time.

    It’s a sorry state of affairs to be tuckered out by one though. 😉

    Oh, and Happy Easter!

  23. In my younger days I loved peeps, now the thought of them makes me ill. But hey! Now their sugar free!. I still can’t bring myself to eat them, however. After all, who wants all that toxic crap in their system?

    I’ve never liked Cadbury Eggs. They can go the way of the dodo.

    As for Wii, I’ve never heard of it. Is it a video game system?

  24. You know what is weird? I only like stale Peeps. I like to leave the package open for a day or so before digging into them.

Leave a Reply

