This just made me laugh out loud so here you go…

I hate vanity plates, a position that was cemented in the four years I spent living in Virginia where everybody’s got them.  But there are some people who think outside the lines, and today Mental Floss put up pictures of vanity plates that transcend a simple combo of numbers and letters and made what I am willing to call art.

And while I’m at it, here’s a fun story about my grandpa.  For most of his life, he lived in Flushing, and duly paid the extra amount of money it costs to have a licensed and registered car in New York City.  A few years back, the state of New York required everyone to get new plates, and in his case that meant he was going to have to get a new set of random letters and numbers.  But grandpa was a guy who enjoyed his ways, and the idea of having to memorize a new plate number was not something he was interested in doing.  So he got a vanity plate.  And for his extra $50 a year do you know what he got it made up to be?  The random combination of letters and numbers that he had before the state made him get new plates.  Ah Grandpa, I miss you every day.

15 responses to this post.

  1. That story about your grandfather is adorable!

    I love the plates that used the graphics on the plate to fill out the words.

  2. The person driving the Hummer – which implies instant douche-status- just raised the bar for Hummer douchery.

    I heart your Grandpa. What a great story!

  3. Your Grandfather story is great. I see his point. Michigan made most people get new plates last year, and I miss the old random number, because I knew it. I just can’t seem to remember the new random number.

  4. Having to change your plate number sucks! I hope your grandpa enjoyed his random vanity plates for a good long time.

  5. That’s a really cute story about your grandpa 🙂

  6. what a sweet grandpa story…

  7. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on March 24, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Did you know that NH has the highest number of vanity plates per capita in the entire country? The best was the red minivan we saw with a plate that said MILF.

  8. I have had my current plate for three years now, and I still can’t remember the number? The plate I had before it, though? I can totally rattle that one off with no problem. In other words, I understand your grandpa’s dilemma, and I think the man was a genius.

  9. That’s awesome. It’s exactly how I’m going to be when I grow up. I mean grow up even more, of course. I still remember my first license plate but can’t commit the current one (of two years) to memory.

  10. Hee! That’s funny. I still have no idea what any of my license plates have said.

  11. sounds like my kinda dude.

  12. I never have any trouble remembering my license plate, mainly because it includes the letters SXU. If I were in a different business, that could be free advertising on my car.

  13. Now that’s a vanity plate. Go grandpa!

  14. Oh, that is adorable!!! Hee!

  15. Your Garnpa sound like a man after my own heart.I hate chang as well.
    I also enjoyed the different vanity tags.Years ago there was a book about vanity tags.a lot of the different tags that people had were published in the book and you could try to figure out what was said and by who.

Leave a Reply

