It’s raining bullet points

Seriously, so much shit has gone down since I left the Hudson Valley on Friday morning, I think it can only be expressed in bullet point form. But in honor of April Fool’s Day, at least one of these will be a lie.

  • I was totally nervous to meet NPW, but not as nervous as I was to drive around Boston (I’m a tried and true NYC grid kind of gal) but it turns out I found her place on the first try, and she was awesome.
  • NPW was as wonderful as I could have hoped, and her BF wasn’t bad, either. He carried my 75 pound swim bag about 5 miles in negative 20 degree weather. (Weights, measurements & temperatures approximate.)
  • I’ve met Stefanie before, and she’s just as cool in the Eastern Time Zone as she was in Central. Guinness Girl was also there, rounding out the fearsome four-eyed foursome.
  • I don’t know what kind of detergent she uses, but NPW’s sheets smelled great. (I slept on her extra air mattress, you weridos.) Even today, two days later, my PJ’s still smell good.
  • Harvard’s pool is ginormous, and I’m pretty sure it’s filled with lubricated water, because I swam faster than I ever have in my whole life.
  • Sure, some people are Olympic Haters, but watching the fast swimmers go twice as fast as me was thrilling.
  • I look right sexy when I wear my glasses with my swim cap. The goggles are prescription, by the way.

harvard-close-up.jpg

  • NPW, Stefanie and Guinness Girl came to see my swim meet. I spotted them right before I dove in for my first race ever. It was happy to know they were there.
  • I broke my vegan fast with Grape Nuts flavored ice cream. I’d do it again in a heartbeat.
  • Later in the day, my parents showed up and watched me swim backstroke. Sure, I came in 14th out of 14 in my age group, but the first 16 finishers get points for their team. Default, the two sweetest words in the English language.
  • Because I’m not happy if my life isn’t packed with stuff, I met up with Macy, my old Sunday School friend, for dinner on Saturday. In attendance were Red Maple, our other friend from Sunday School, my parents, Macy’s parents, her boyfriend, and some people from Australia. Dinner was delish. I ate cheese.
  • I told Macy I could be totally happy living in Boston and she immediately tried to convince me to move there and telecommute. I thought she was crazy and said “no way” until I came to the office on Monday and got sucked into depression by the white cinder block walls. Suddenly, doing all my work via email seemed so nice.
  • In all seriousness, I don’t think the Hudson Valley worry about losing me yet, because this is my awesome team:

bluefish-swim-team.jpg

  • Coach is in the bottom middle, and none of the people are my physical therapist, he didn’t go to the meet. The guy on the right in row 2 is Cliff, who’s 80. He got lots of medals, which happens to people who don’t quit. Our mascot is the Doughboy. I can’t imagine finding a better team in the competitive Boston Area.
  • I learned lots about swim meets that I’ll probably share in another post. Mostly they involve learning how not to stare at the hairy guys with paunches stuck in unitards. Yeah.
  • After dinner on Saturday, I joined the tail-end of blogger meet-up 2008. We got this picture:

bloggertastic.jpg

  • From left to right, NPW, me, Stefanie, Red (who I met for like 5 seconds, and is cool despite her lack of glasses), and Guinness Girl, who I felt like I’ve known before I even met her.
  • I’m hoping Aaron wasn’t faining deathly illness, therefore denying himself the chance to hang with people he met during NaBloPoMo ’06, but he did post on his blog while we were trying to call him.
  • I think I can’t move to Boston because I don’t think it’s ready to handle both me and NPW.
  • For me, 10% of the weekend was spent meeting with friends, and 90% was spent sitting on bleachers in a wet bathing suit learning about chafing.
  • Driving home, I realized I had forgotten to turn down my heat. I hope the flipping cat was grateful.
  • I will neither confirm nor deny who the models in my new “it’s raining men” April header are. I will confirm that the photo was taken in my backyard.
  • I contemplated writing a fake post in honor of the holiday, either pretending to retire my blog, or pretending to move, or pretending to have been proposed to. But I couldn’t make it work with a weekend wrap-up, and they all seemed too cruel.
  • Next time I head to Boston, I hope to have more time to meet with more people and do more cool Boston things, but I’m going to want to swim in that pool again.
  • I totally got enough sleep this weekend.

I’m out like a lamb, yo.

26 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a great time was had by all. Welcome back (your dreams were your ticket out).

    ?

  2. That is the cutest header ever. I’m so glad you had a good time, and you rocked your personal times!

    Thanks! I hope I go up from here!

  3. 1. I love the header.
    2. It seems like you had quite the weekend 🙂
    3. I can’t even guess which one would be a lie haha.

    I couldn’t think of an effective lie, so I just threw that one in at the end. 🙂

  4. Yeah, I’m sure you got enough sleep. 🙂

    Although the Grape Nuts flavored ice cream is kind of tripping me out. Grape Nuts kind of don’t have flavor.

    Glad you had such a great weekend!

    I love the header too!

    The Grape Nuts are in the ice cream, and they make it taste malty.

  5. Awesome weekend and I’m completely jealous (of everything except the Grape Nuts ice cream, which has got to be BS.)

    Congrats on the great swim. NPW’s pic of you in the pool made it look like you were winning, which I can only assume you were. Rock!

    Either I was winning, or I was one lap behind.

  6. I think Boston could handle both of us. It’s a pretty big city. But you might have to move to Cambridge instead, just so we could dominate both areas with our awesomeness.

    Oh, and I’m glad everyone loved my detergent so much, but I am afraid I have to give credit to the Tide Simple Pleasures Vanilla & Lavender.

    Grapenut ice cream is awesome, and I am claiming that a picture of Birmingham, even if it isn’t, because I want to think it so.

    Lavender and Vanilla is indeed what my PJ’s smelled like. I’m glad I’m not the only one who noticed.

  7. Hi!!! You rocked the swim meet, and I’m so happy we got to see it! And I wholeheartedly agree that the weekend was fabulous.

    Yeay blogger weekend!

  8. Thanks for the link! At least swimming is a sport for god’s sake. I don’t hate it.

    Oh thank goodness. If I do take up curling, I’ll keep it to myself.

  9. I’m thinking that last one is a lie, because there was way too much cool stuff going on in your life this weekend for you to fritter it away sleeping.

    Great job on the swim meet!

    It’s true, I’m totally sleep deprived, still.

  10. In honor of bullet points:
    . Yay for you and your swimmeet
    . Meetup sounded like fun
    . Love the new header
    . Am calling B.S. on the last one, having read NPW’s entry.

    thanks, bullet point.

  11. Congratulations, Team Swimmer!

    You girls and your stylish glasses kind of make me regret having LASIK. So many cute glasses out there!!

    Yeah, but you could totally just wear any old frames, and that’s pretty great.

  12. cool weekend! that last photo with all the glasses kind of freaked me out, because i’m pretty sure my glasses are the same shape and similar color to NPW’s.

    grapenut-flavored ice cream? does it have the gravelly texture of grapenuts? is it just vanilla with grape nuts on top? sorry, i’m hungry and very curious.

    Like I said above, it tastes malty. The grape nuts get kind of soft.

  13. Your week-end sounded fun! Go you for finishing your first swim meet and living to tell about it.

    those bullets themselves are mucho bonita. i’ll switch to wordpress just to use those myself at some point. 🙂

    If you know crazy CSS, you can make the bullet points look like icons. Each theme is slightly different.

  14. ps. is your tag supposed to say ‘it’s raining men?’

    great photo. leaves us all wondering…you’re good at that!

    No, I wanted to keep the tag Brando gave me.

  15. Posted by constantlyarriving on April 1, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    OMG- Please tell me that grapenuts ice cream is from Herrell’s in Harvard Square! I miss that place, and that ice cream!

    Close, it was from Lizzy’s, just off the square.

  16. HEY! You are right – that’s a lot of bullet points!!
    Love that you said that you thought about writing an April Fools post – I did too, but I am not that clever. Like the photos – healthy looking bunch of folks. I am with you on your tip to my blog. I am weeding out all sugar right now. It just flips a “graze” switch on inside me.

    Be blessed.

    Jennifer

  17. That was a Welcome Back Kotter reference. Disregard. 🙂

  18. Posted by lizgwiz on April 1, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I am absolutely NOT jealous that you guys were having such fun over the weekend, while I was straining my back and getting sciatica.

    Can you find the lie in THAT? 😉

  19. congrats on all that successful swimming. my guess is landlesbians (new masthead).

  20. Sounds like a fun filled weekend!

    I was also I contemplating a fake post in honor of April Fools Day, but didn’t like anything I came up with. 😦

    Surely the antithesis of the sweetest words in the English are – Hairy guys with paunches stuck in unitards. Yikes!

  21. 3 Carnations, I got your reference. 🙂

  22. I totally complimented NPW on her detergent as well. My towel smelled lovely. Oddly, I have actually used that vanilla and lavender detergent before and not had as delightful results. Must be NPW’s magic touch (or the Boston water).

    I’m guessing that last one was a lie, based on the fact that I should be in bed now (at 8:18 p.m.) myself.

    So glad we got to hang out again!! I had a fantastic weekend.

  23. I bet you did NOT get enough sleep this weekend! 😉 I’m excited for my next few blogger meet-ups and especially after reading your recent one. Congratulations on doing the swimming meets! From my very limited experience taking adult swim classes to better my technique, I can attest that swimming is a rigorous sport (you can sweat underwater?!) and I think it’s awesome that you do it.

  24. It was great to meet you! And yeah, I was so drunk and sad about the lack of guac by the time you got there, everything was a blur. I mean…insert a more responsible reason than that.

    And I had glasses in my bag, I swear. 🙂

  25. I’m amused not by the fact you all wear glasses but your glasses are all remarkably similar.

  26. I can’t believe you were in Boston and I missed it! I totally suck.

    It’s also bizarre how much NPW looks like FreeAndFlawed Jenn.

Leave a Reply

