Tonight we dine in hell!

I’m in New Jersey today and Pennsylvania tomorrow, so I’m off the internet, because this crappy establishment that my company put me up in (aka my parent’s house) has perfectly good wifi, but nobody knows the password to it. Typical. I love you, Mom, almost as much as this circa 1998 Toshiba on which I now sloooowly write this post!

My first stop today is Sparta, NJ, which makes me wonder if it’s going to be overrun by men in Speedos and capes. (Like I don’t see that every day at the pool.) So while I’m gone, I thought I’d do 2 cop-out posts. Firstly, I’m going to do the question meme. Please ask me any questions you can think of in the comments section, and when I return to the superior technology of my circa 1850’s cottage on Friday, I’ll answer them. And as for Thursday, does anyone want to do a guest post? If so send me an email to dailytannenbaum [up in the] gmail [to the] com. Let me know what you would potentially write about, and in the meantime, I’ll try and find a coffee shop or something with some wifi and decide how I’ll work the guest post thing. See you soon!

PS – I just noticed a bunch of strange people up and had a field day with my comments. Since I don’t even know that many people, I’m not really sure what happened. If anyone knows what the deal is, let me know. Serve me right for being ecstatic for getting more than 30 comments in a day.

UPDATE: I’m only answering questions to commenters that lead to valid URLs and that aren’t meant to be hurtful, or don’t get when someone is freaking kidding.  Also, I’m resorting to turning on comment moderation.  I’ll update through the day.  What is wrong with people?  Also, don’t click on any of the links of those commenters, I have a feeling that they are up to no good.

36 responses to this post.

  1. Well, I don’t have time to read all 70 of those comments, but surely your statcounter gives you some insight as to who that was? I would think someone who takes that much time and has that much animosity must be someone you know…or just a random crazy person. Sorry for that.

    The wifi with no password…Ha. Maybe they should stop paying for it. 🙂

  2. Looks like you were linked on Reddit, one of the commenters left a link.

    Assholes.

  3. My mom just got hooked up with an ass-kicking laptop (yes, I’m jealous) and decided to install wifi too. When I went there and tried it for the first time, I told her to never, never, never lose the password for the wifi. *Fingers crossed* Just in case, I wrote it down too so we both have a copy.

    About the comments – I just switched over from my comments needing approval to instant publishing. Maybe I should switch back so I don’t magically get linked on Reddit. D’oh!

  4. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on April 16, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Uh okay, someone added your post to Reddit and it seems to have created a field day among the anonymous commenters and people who DON’T KNOW HOW TO TAKE A JOKE. Seriously: are there that many people in the world who can’t tell the difference between humor and reality?

    Maybe if they took two seconds to read some of your other posts before getting all up on you for some funny observations they’d realize that they’re the ones who are judgemental and idiotic.

    Or it might also be a bunch of ugly-ass dudes who have felt slighted all of their lives for wearing flip flops and being completely unfunny.

  5. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on April 16, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Uh okay, someone added your post to Reddit and it seems to have created a field day among the anonymous commenters and people who DON’T KNOW HOW TO TAKE A JOKE. Seriously: are there that many people in the world who can’t tell the difference between humor and reality?

    Maybe if they took two seconds to read some of your other posts before getting all up on you for some funny observations they’d realize that they’re the ones who are judgemental and idiotic.

    Or it might also be a bunch of ugly-ass dudes who have felt slighted all of their lives for wearing flip flops and living in their Mom’s basement

  6. I followed the reddit link and thoroughly enjoyed the article on your man-scoring! Keep up the good writing. Sorry about the assholes. 😐

    There is no bad press, as long as they spell your URL correctly!

  7. oh goodness those comments were killer! i’m sorry!

    but all of your real readers could sense the sarcasm, wit and humor in that post. chin up.

    anonymous commenters have been running ruining the happy blog world lately.

    sigh.

  8. I haven’t seen the field day, but I did see the original comment that I’m guessing possibly sparked it. I can’t believe people actually need to be reminded when someone is kidding.

    Am I the only one who doesn’t know what Reddit is?

    Oh! And a question… Hmm… Here’s an easy one. When did you become a vegetarian? And which of the several very good reasons for doing so had the most to do with it?

  9. Question: Is any part of “Noelle Tannenbaum” your real name or is the whole thing made up? If the latter, how did you come up with it?

  10. If you could have one talent that you do not have, what would you like it to be?

  11. Posted by Jessica on April 16, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Having similarly technologically challenged parents, if you bring an ethernet or USB cable you should be able to plug into the wireless router and reset the password.

    Also, um. Read the comments, and it seems pretty clear that the dry humor of the post in question went completely over the head of the bottom-feeding commenters.

    And guys in flip-flops = ew.

  12. Posted by Tucker on April 16, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Question: Who are the people in the header photograph? Who is taking the picture?

    Note – 99% of the internet is full of judgmental jerks. Their thoughts aren’t worth anything. Especially considering that everyone judges people when they’re looking for a partner. It’s nothing new. If ANY man had written his criteria, it would have been looks, boobs, cooking skills, and desire to watch sports.

    Everyone uses a point system. Its just that most people don’t realize it. And all the ignorant commenters on reddit (and everywhere else on the internet) need to shut up and realize that their idiotic thoughts don’t matter.

  13. Okay, so here’s a question — were you to actually dine in hell, who would you want on the dinner party list?

  14. If the guys from 300 are in your Sparta, please let me know as soon as possible. No reason…

  15. Here’s my question: What is your favorite 80s cartoon and why?

  16. Redditers are a bunch of autistic spectrum disorder losers who wouldn’t get self-deprecating humor if it slapped them on the face with a dead haddock. Many of them seem to also have a large chip on their shoulders towards women – probably because of how they’re usually rated.

    Seriously – what’s not to like about a woman who creates a Ken Doll still motion version of The Ruins?

    The Reddit discussion thread is here: http://reddit.com/info/6fwt5/comments/

    My comment is here:

    http://reddit.com/info/6fwt5/comments/c03qesn

  17. Posted by lizgwiz on April 16, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Wow. I’ve been kind of out of it the last couple of days, so I hadn’t read all those comments. Sure makes you appreciate the “regular” commenters in this little corner of the blogsphere, doesn’t it? (And, by the way, I thought the post itself was hilarious.)

  18. Wow. I didn’t know that kind of internet burn existed. But then I’m internet naive. Bunch of capital A-holes.

    Moving on (because that crap isn’t even worth our time):

    What is the best thing about the city in which you live?

    Have you ever considered taking up rock climbing across the river at the Gunks (I relate everything to climbing somehow)?

    Say hi to New Jersey for me!

  19. People are so dumb. I read through some of the crazy comments, and they made me laugh, just because of how harsh and serious they are. ABOUT A JOKE.

    Anyway.

    What made you decide to start swimming?

  20. My questions are:

    What are you reading now?
    Why do you blog?
    What’s your biggest pet peeve?

  21. Don’t people recognize the difference between blogs that are just an amusing recounting of one’s experiences and blogs that are trying to make a statement? My goodness people- it ain’t that SURIOUS.

    JOKES, people. JOKES.

  22. Um…I don’t even know what REddit is. Man, I am behind the times.

    Okay, questions:
    (1) If you were a doughnut, what kind would you be?
    (2) What made you a vegetarian?
    (3) What’s your favorite book that you read last year?

    I will try to come up with more!

  23. With regards to the anonymous comments, your (now infamous) blog post mysteriously made it to the homepage of reddit.com, a social news and discussion website (similar to digg in a way), whose regular clientèle comprises predominantly of twenty/thirtysomething year-old males. Needless to say, it caused quite a stir – hence the slew of comment abuse. You can follow the link below to read the reaction it got over there if you’re interested… an impressive 226 comments and counting.

    http://reddit.com/info/6fwt5/comments/

  24. my parents have dialup and it takes half an hour just to connect, so i feel your pain.

  25. You’re so popular!!!

  26. because hate mail is a good thing!

  27. what is reddit? do i want to try to google that shit?

    I got the whole 300 reference from the title…you funny. 🙂

  28. I missed the comment extravaganza. What is going on with all the blog drama this week?

    First me, then Jamie and Heidi, now you. It probably just means that we’re awesome.

  29. Dude, my mom has dial-up. And no cable. So yeah.

    I would like to know the following things:
    1. What is Reddit?
    2. What is your favorite book?
    3. What actress would play you in a movie about your life?

  30. dude,I sued to have dial up and now we are talking slow as molasses.I’m doing a little better since I have DSL,and that is as good as we can afford. Uless we win the lottery,fat chance Mikey.

  31. I missed the comments! What happened? What is Reddit???

    If you flip over the wireless box, there are a series of numbers. One of the numbers is the ID of the wireless network. The other number SHOULD be the password. I had this problem when I moved into a house where the roommates had lived for like 10 years. It should work for you, but don’t hate me if I’m wrong.

  32. Posted by Jennifer M. on April 16, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I second the who would play you in the Noelle Tannenbaum biopic question. That’s a good one. Maybe expand on it by picking an actress for the young you and an actress for the decrepit wheelchair bound old you.

  33. Well, I missed all the fun, as usual. I tried following the link to the reddit comment thread, and it made me so angry, I had to close it after about five seconds. Fucking sexist dickswitch jackass fucknuts.

    I am sorry for saying fuck so much on your blog, dear Christmas Tree. Forgive me.

    On a happier note (because as Mickey correctly observed, it’s not even worth talking about), here’s my question for you: How do you want to be portrayed in Beej for Hire? Do you even want to be? I haven’t included the “Noelle” character yet, and I’m wondering if you have any requests. You may answer this on your own time, and not via blog, if you so choose.

    Also, your blog is awesome, just FYI.

  34. Right, I’m hopelessly behind the times, both on reddit and on the general dustup. Must catchup, but first ….my questions:

    Who do you think would win in a fight – Spiderman or Batman?

    If you had six months with no obligations or financial constraints, what would you do with the time?

    Do you have a favourite recipe from Vegan March that you could share with us? (I have a selfish motivation here.))

  35. Wow, I missed some DRAMA over at The Daily Tannenbaum. (I promise that I am the same old, slightly boring, but mostly nice Laurel Sass you know well!!!)

    I always ask: What was your favorite outfit in the 8th grade?

  36. I think it first time here.
    I came over from Hollowing Hills.

    So your dining in hell. I don’t know if I every dine in hell or not.
    But my grandma Olive was a terrible cook and my parents would tell me if I didn’t behave I would go and eat at “Grandma’s”

    Now for the question: What funny saying do you have on your coffee mugs?

Leave a Reply

