No cable cars, no Rice-A-Roni, just lots of family time

I’m flying back to the East in the morning, and this lovely airport Holiday Inn Express has an internet connection, so what could be a more exciting thing than vacation photos?  I kind of forgot all about the internet while I was gone, so for those of you who saw my Tweet that said, “I’m sick of my parents” and then nothing else for a day, you should know that I sent that in a moment of crankiness, but after that, everything was fine.

It feels like we were gone for a week, but it’s only been four days.  The whole point of coming out here was for my Aunt Tibby’s 90th birthday, but we kind of forgot to take a single picture of that entire event.  So here’s some other stuff we did:

My dad has been a Giants Fan since they won the world series in 1954, and were based in New York.  Friday was free gaudy orange tee-shirt day.  We have pride, but it didn’t help.  They lost the game to the Phillies.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present San Francisco, as seen from the top of Telegraph Hill.  SisterAlyson was right, I’m not fooling anyone when I wear my sunglasses on top of my glasses.

(After that, we continued with the rest of our vacation in the Stanford/Palo Alto area.  No pictures from that day survive, because no pictures were taken by anyone in our party.)

But the next day we saw tall trees!

Our extended family and my immediate family hiked in the redwood forest.  Next stop: gulf stream waters.

This whole freaking state is in bloom!  Macro lens: activate!

Sonoma Valley can actually be a lot of fun for people who don’t drink.  For instance, this was the view from the tram car where we learned all about how grapes that get morning light make different wine than grapes that get southern light.  My parents took the tour guide’s word for it, whereas I decided to participate in the post-tour tasting to see for myself.  It also meant that I got out of driving for the rest of the trip.

Good times.  I feel like I’ve been here for over a week, and we’re heading back in a few hours.  Can’t wait to see what the internet’s been up to while I’ve been gone, and get back to exploring my home valley.

30 responses to this post.

  1. Anyone know where those massive trees are with tunnels in them so cars can drive through? I’ve been trying to remember for weeks now and am starting to think I made them up…

    We didn’t go to that one, but it does exist, in far northern California. You could just put your whole body in these trees.

  2. Posted by Z on May 13, 2008 at 7:12 am

    You’re making me want to go back NOW, and I was just there! 🙂

    Sounds like you’re having a great time!!!

    I wish I could stay, but I have the rest of my week’s vacation planned elsewhere. Sigh.

  3. Looks/sounds like a great time!

    …and apparently you are fooling ME when you put your sunglasses over your regular glasses, if that’s what you were doing in that picture, because I couldn’t tell even when I was looking for it. 😉

    Cool. If I’m the only one who noticed, then I will carry on.

  4. Hey, did you get to meet up with Kirsten? So jealous of your Sonoma tour, it looks beautiful there.

    I was going to, but there was not one second of this trip that wasn’t full of family stuff. Just means I have to go back.

  5. No Rice A Roni? I totally meant to text you to tell you to eat some for me, and then I spazzed and forgot.

    That’s okay, I’ll have some when I get home so I can reminisce.

  6. Oooh! I love other people’s vacation pictures. It’s weird. I know.

    That tree is awesome! Glad to hear you had a good time!

    I’m glad you do, cause that’s what you got!

  7. I know what you mean about forgetting about the Internet while you’re gone. I have never posted from vacation, though, so apparently we’re not out of mind entirely.

    Glad you had a good trip!

    Yeah, I’ll still be internetless all day when I fly home. I think I’ll try “a book” instead.

  8. Hey! I have a photo from the top of Telegraph Hill from my trip to SFO, too!

    I am surprised I didn’t see you there.

    It would be funny if we didn’t see each other in our home state, but met on the other side of the country.

  9. Posted by themoderngal on May 13, 2008 at 10:50 am

    No cable cars? Really?

    We rode them in 2001 when we were here on a layover from Australia, and you only really need to do it once in your life.

  10. I love San Francisco! I’m so glad you had a good trip; and admittedly, Sonoma Valley was my favorite day trip during my SF adventures. :o)

    xox

    It’s mind-numbingly beautiful there.

  11. my friend just moved to san fran and every time she posts pictures, i bang my head against the nearest wall and ask myself why exactly i feel so tied to New England?

    it looks so beautiful there…all the time.

  12. yeah, that sunglasses-over-glasses trick is a good one! or at least i’m going to continue to believe it is.

  13. I’m glad you had a fun trip! I can’t wait to go to San Francisco in July! I want to see giant trees 🙂

  14. Posted by SisterAlyson on May 13, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    What in the hell is on Dad’s head in that picture of you guys by the tall trees?

  15. Dude, you wear sunglasses over your glasses? That is fantastic. Maybe I should do the same; get over my pride and save my eyes.

    Or not.

  16. PS – Glad you’re back!

  17. What a great vacation, and good pictures! Glad you got to enjoy wine country!

  18. Posted by sadieandleo on May 13, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Nice! Great photos.

    I finally broke down and bought prescription sunglasses some years back. I live on the surface of the sun so it is appropriate. Never in NH, so I did the whole glasses over glasses thing too.

  19. i can understand the lack of rice and roni (i forgot that was created here) – but no cable car!!!

    did you at least see a cable car?

  20. Aunt Tibby? People named their kids weird things 90 years ago.

    Glad you had fun and welcome back!

  21. Oh. I miss San Francisco! But I invented a business reason to be out there … just a few weeks til my trip. I hope to hit Sonoma again, but my big plan is to go to the deyoung

    Glad you had a nice trip.

  22. jealous!!! yet so glad you are having such a good time!

  23. Ah! That looks so awesome! I need to go somewhere new. California sounds about right.

  24. It’s OK for your parents to get on your nerves and to love them too. That sounds just like me. My Dad annoys me to no end but I am so proud of him and who he is. My mother USED to get on my nerves with her lack of time for her grandkids. When I accepted that she is more of a Dog person than a kid person, it quit being so painful.

    Baseball, look out point, and wine….. sounds like a fun trip!!

    Jennifer

  25. the internet has missed you.

  26. Siiiiiiiigh. Bossy left her heart in San Francisco. Hey, that should be a song!

  27. I miss that place so much! I’m so excited I’m going back there in 2 weeks! Yay!

    Also, Sonoma is better than Napa if you want less commercial wineries and less people. Because wine is wine is wine.

  28. Goodness, I am madly in love with San Francisco…

  29. Ah, I miss my bay area!

    Pretty pictures…looks like a fun trip!

  30. These are great, Noelle! Did you see the tall trees at Muir Woods? It looks like it – SO awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

